July 15, 2020

Thesaurus : Doctrine

Full reference : Merabet, S. La morale by design , in M.-A. (dir.), Les outils  de la Compliance, série "Régulations & Compliance", Journal of Regulation & Compliance and Dalloz, 2020, to be published.

Consult an overview of the volume in which the article was published.

 

___

Summary of the article (by Marie-Anne Frison-Roche)

After having wondered about the relationship between Law and Morality, for which it is difficult to find points of contact, the author advances the hypothesis that the latter could find a space of concretization in the technology of artificial intelligence, even though many are worried about the deleterious effects of it. The author considering that Compliance is only a method while ethics would be the way in which morality is incorporated in a relaxed way in Law, the technology known as Artificial Intelligence could therefore express the moral rule ("compliance by design could be the appropriate tool to ensure the effectiveness of moral rules without falling into the excesses envisaged").

The author draws on examples to estimate that thus technology for on the one hand expressing the moral rule and on the other hand making it effective. The moral rule can thus be drawn up in a balanced way since it is jointly developed between the State and the economic operators, this collaboration taking the form of general principles adopted by the State using the means chosen by the company. Its content would also be characterized by the search for a "happy medium", which would be found by this distribution between the primary moral principles whose expression would be the act of the State and the secondary moral principles whose expression would be delegated to companies.

Taking therefore what would be the principles of Compliance, the author applies them to Artificial Intelligence, showing that these technologies include not only the principle of neutrality but also the ethical principles of non-maliciousness, even of benevolence. (first principles) that companies then decline into secondary principles. Therefore, "compliance can usefully be used to convert these fundamental moral principles into derived moral rules, a source of greater effectiveness.".

Thus resulting in a "moral by design", the overall system has an additional effectiveness tool. This supposes that the fundamental and derived rules are of an acquired moral quality because for the moment the technological tool can only ensure their effectiveness and not the moral quality of the implemented rules. In determining the "moral rules of application", the company has margins of freedom, used through technological tools.

 

______________

 

.

 

 

 

Consult the summaries of the other articles composing the book.

 

____

April 1, 2020

Thesaurus : Doctrine

Full reference: Merabet, S., Vers un droit de l'intelligence artificielle (written in French), coll. Nouvelle Bibliothèque des Thèses, Volume 197, Dalloz, 509p.

Jan. 5, 2020

Thesaurus : Doctrine

Full reference: Adam, P., Le Friant, M. et Tarasewicz, Y. (ed.), Intelligence artificielle, gestion algorithmique du personnel et droit du travail (written in French), serie "Les travaux de l'AFDT", Coll. "Thèmes et Commentaires", Dalloz, 2020, 241p.

Read the fourth of cover

Dec. 24, 2019

MAFR TV : MAFR TV - case

Watch the video commenting on the decision of the Commission des sanctions of the Autorité des marchés financiers - AMF (French Financial Market Authority Sanctions Commission).

Read the decision.

_______________

 

In 2015, a document supposedly emanating from the Vinci company reached the Bloomberg media announcing unexpected catastrophic results. The two journalists who received it immediately published it without checking anything, the Vinci listed shares losing more than 18%. It was a rude forgery, which a basic check would have established, a check which the journalists had not done.

4 years later, the Bloomerg company is punished for the breach to "disseminate false information" on the financial market, by a decision of the Sanctions Commission of the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (French Financial Markets Authority) of December 11, 2019.

The company being sued argued that it was up to journalists to be accountable and not to itself, because on the contrary the firm had implemented both detection software and a code of conduct, even though there was no legal rule constraining it. In consequence, it would not possible to pursue it.

But the AMF Sanctions Commission stresses that, independently of this, it is a general rule of ethics for journalists that obliges them to verify the authenticity of the documents they publish, which they did not, whereas an elementary check would have allowed them to measure that it is a rude forgery.

In addition, the Sanctions Commission refers to the European Regulation on market abuses which in its article 21 targets the special status to be reserved for press freedom and the special status of journalists, but associates this ethical obligation to verify documents . However, the Sanctions Commission notes that this obligation, which was targeted by both the journalists' ethics and the reference text of Financial Law, was completely ignored by the two journalists. It is therefore up to the press agency to be accountable and to be punished.

However, the media entreprise maintained that the balance between the principle of freedom of the press and the principle of freedom of opinion on the one hand and the principle of the protection of the financial market and of investors against false information disseminated requires an interpretation of the European Union Law, which must oblige the Sanctions Commission to ask a preliminary question to the Court of Justice of the European Union.

The Sanctions Commission dismisses this request because it considers that the European texts are "clear", which allows the Sanctions Commission to interpret them itself. And precisely the European Regulation on market abuse in its article 21 provides for the exception in favor of the press and journalists but compels them to respect their ethics, in particular the verification of the authenticity of documents. In this case, they did nothing. They are clearly the authors of a breach attributable to the company.

________

In a less clear case, one could consider that this balance between two principles, both of public interest, is delicate and that an interpretation by the Court of Justice would always be useful.

Indeed and more fundamentally, does Financial Law remain an autonomous Law, putting first the objective of the preservation of the integration of the financial market and the protection of investors or is it the advanced point of an Information Law protecting everyone against the action of any "influencer" (category to which Bloomberg belongs) consisting in disseminating inaccurate information (notion of "misinformation")?

And that is not so "clear" ....

 

_____________________

April 21, 2017

Blog

Through the Open Culture website, it is possible to listen to Hayao Miyazaki who, in March 2017, claimed that video games whose drawings are made on Artificial Intelligence basis are "insults to life".

Read below the history, the words that the Master has held, his conception of what is creation and "truly human" work, which is echoed by the definitions given by Alain Supiot, who also reflected on what robots do.

This brings us back to the very notion of "creation" and creative work.
 

_____

Read below

15 juillet 2020

Base Documentaire : Doctrine

Référence complète : Merabet, S. La morale by design , in M.-A. (dir.), Les outils  de la Compliance, série "Régulations & Compliance", Journal of Regulation & Compliance et Dalloz, 2020, à paraître.

 

Consulter une présentation générale du volume dans lequel l'article a été publié. 

 

___

Résumé de l'article (fait par Marie-Anne Frison-Roche)

Après s'être interrogé sur les rapports entre le Droit et la Morale, dont on a du mal à trouver des points de contact, l'auteur avance l'hypothèse que celle-ci pourrait trouver un espace de concrétisation dans la technologie de l'intelligence artificielle, alors même que beaucoup s'inquiètent des effets délétères de celle-ci. L'auteur considérant que la Compliance n'est qu'une méthode tandis que l'éthique serait la façon dont la morale est incorporée d'une façon assouplie dans le Droit, la technologie dite de l'Intelligence Artificielle pourrait donc exprimer la règle morale ("la compliance by design pourrait être l’outil adéquat pour permettre d’assurer l’effectivité des règles morales sans tomber dans les excès envisagés"). 

L'auteur prend appui sur des exemples pour estimer qu'ainsi la technologie pour d'une part exprimer la règle morale et d'autre part rendre celle-ci effective. La règle morale peut ainsi élaborée d'une façon équilibrée puisqu'elle l'est conjointement entre l'État et les opérateurs économiques, cette collaboration prenant la forme de principes généraux arrêtés par l'État des moyens choisis par l'entreprise. Son contenu serait également caractérisé par la recherche d'un "juste milieu", qui serait trouvé par cette répartition entre les principes moraux primaires dont l'expression serait le fait de l'État et les principes moraux secondaires dont l'expression serait déléguée aux entreprises.

Prenant donc ce qui seraient les principes de la Compliance, l'auteur les applique à l'Intelligence Artificielle, en montrant qu'on insère dans ces technologies non seulement le principe de neutralité mais encore les principes éthiques de non-malveillance, voire de bienveillance (principes premiers) que les entreprises déclinent ensuite en principes secondaires. Dès lors, "la compliance peut utilement être mise à profit pour convertir ces principes moraux fondamentaux en règles morales dérivées, source d’une plus grande effectivité.".

Aboutissant ainsi à une "morale by design", le système global dispose d'un outil d'effectivité supplémentaire. Cela suppose que les règles fondamentales et dérivées soient d'une qualité morale acquise car pour l'instant l'outil technologique ne peut assurer que leur effectivité et non pas la qualité morale des règles implémentées.  Dans la détermination des "règles morales d'application", l'entreprise dispose de marges de liberté, utilisées via les outils technologiques. 

 

______________

 

.

 

 

 

Consulter les résumés des autres articles composant l'ouvrage.  

 

____

1 avril 2020

Base Documentaire : Doctrine

Référence complète: Merabet, S., Vers un droit de l'intelligence artificielle, coll. Nouvelle Bibliothèque des Thèses, Volume 197, Dalloz, 509p.

5 janvier 2020

Base Documentaire : Doctrine

Référence complète: Adam, P., Le Friant, M. et Tarasewicz, Y. (dir.), Intelligence artificielle, gestion algorithmique du personnel et droit du travail, série "Les travaux de l'AFDT", Coll. "Thèmes et Commentaires", Dalloz, 2020, 241 p.

Lire la quatrième de couverture

24 décembre 2019

MAFR TV : MAFR TV - cas

Regarder la vidéo commentant la décision rendue par la Commission des sanctions de l'Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF)

Lire la décision.

_______________

 

En 2015, un document soi-disant émanant de l'entreprise Vinci est parvenu au média Bloomberg annonçant des résultats catastrophiques inattendus. Les deux journalistes l'ayant reçu l'ont dans l'instant répercutant sans rien vérifier, le titre Vinci perdant plus de 18%. Il s'agissait d'un faux grossier, ce qu'une vérification élémentaire aurait permis d'établir, vérification à laquelle les journalistes n'avaient pas faite.

4 ans plus tard, l'entreprise Bloomerg est sanctionnée pour le manquemement de "diffusion de fausse information" sur le marché financier, par une décision de la Commission des sanctions de l'Autorité des marchés financiers du 11 décembre 2019. 

L'entreprise poursuivie faisait valoir que c'était aux journalistes d'en répondre et non pas à elle, car elle avait mis en place et un logiciel de détection et un code de bonne conduite, alors même qu'aucun texte ne l'y contraint. Il convenait donc de ne pas la poursuivre.

La Commission des sanctions de l'AMF souligne qu'indépendamment de celà c'est une règle générale de la déontologie des journalistes qui oblige ceux-ci à vérifier l'authentificité des documents qu'ils diffusent, ce qu'ils n'ont en rien fait, alors qu'une vérification élémentaire leur aurait permis de mesurer qu'il s'agit d'un faux grossier.

Pourtant l'agence de presse Bloomberge avait demandé à la Commission des sanctions de poser une "question préjudicielle" à la Cour de justice de l'Union européenne sur l'équilibre à faire entre la liberté de la presse et des opinions d'une part et la protection des marchés et des investisseurs contre les "fausses informations" d'autre part.

Mais la Commission des sanctions de l'AMF estime que les textes sont "clairs" : il s'agit ici de l'article 21 du Réglement européen sanctionnant les abus de marché qui pose que si la liberté des journalistes doit être préservée, il faut que ceux-ci respectent leur propre déontologie, et notamment vérifient l'authenticité des documents sur lesquels ils s'appuient. Or, en l'espèce, ils ne l'ont en rien fait. Le manquement est donc constitué.

 

______

En outre, la Commission des sanctions se référe au Réglement européen sur les abus de marchés qui dans son article 21 vise le statut particulier à réserver à la liberté de la presse et au statut particulier des journalistes mais y associe cette obligation déontologique de vérification des documents. Or, la Commission des sanctions relève que cette obligation visée, et par la déontologie des journalistes et par le texte de référence de Droit financier, a été totalement méconnue par les deux journalistes. C'est donc à l'agence de presse d'en répondre.

Pourtant celle-ci soutenait que l'équlibre entre le principe de liberté de la presse et le principe de liberté d'opinion d'une part et le principe de la protection du marché financier et des investisseurs contre les fausses informations diffusées nécessite une interprétation du Droit de l'Union européenne, ce qui doit contraindre la Commission des sanction à saisir la Cour de Justice de l'Union européenne d'une question préjudicielle.

La Commission des sanctions écarte cette demande car elle estime que les textes communautaires sont "clairs", ce qui leur permet de les interpréter elle-même. Et précisément le Réglement européen sur les abus de marché dans son article 21 prévoit l'exception en faveur de la presse et des journalistes mais les contraint à respecter leur déontologie, notamment la vérification de l'authenticité des documents. En l'espèce, ils ne l'ont en rien fait. Ils sont clairement auteurs d'un manquement, imputable à l'entreprise.

________

Dans un cas moins net, l'on pourrait pu considérer que cet équilibre entre deux principes, tout deux d'intérêt public, est délicat et qu'une interprétation par la Cour de Justice serait toujours utile.

En effet et plus fondamentalement, le Droit financier demeure-t-il un Droit autonome, mettant en premier l'objectif la préservation de l'intégration du marché financier et la protection des investisseurs ou bien est-il la pointe avancée d'un Droit de l'information préservant chacun contre l'action de tout "influenceur" (catégorie à laquelle Bloomberg appartient) consistant à diffuser des informations inexactes (notion de "désinformaton") ?

Et cela n'est pas si "clair"....

 

_____________________

21 avril 2017

Blog

Par le site "Open culture", il est possible d'écouter Hayao Miyazaki qui, en mars 2017, affirmait que les jeux videos dont les dessins sont faits par des procédés d'intelligence artificielles sont des "insultes à la vie".

Lire ci-dessous l'histoire, les propos que le Maître a tenus, son conception de ce qu'est la création et un travail "réellement humain", ce qui est fait écho aux définitions données par Alain Supiot, qui lui aussi réfléchi sur ce que font les robots.

Cela ramène à la notion même de "création" et de travail créateur.

_____

Lire ci-dessous.