Nov. 18, 2020

Thesaurus : 05. CJCE - CJUE

Full reference: CJEU, 1st chamber, 18th of November 2020, decision C‑519/19, Ryanair DAC vs DelayFix

Read the decision

 

Summary of the decision

This decision of the CJEU of 18th of November 2020 is about the jurisdiction clause for any dispute in air transport contracts, here those of Ryanair. This decision is especially interesting about the question to know whether the professional assignee (collection company) of a debt whose holder was a consumer may or may not avail itself of the consumer protection provisions, canceling the scope of this type of clause. 

The Court takes back the criteria and the solution already used in 2019 about a credit contract: the protection applies by the criterion of the parties to the contract and not of the parties to the disputes. Such a clause is effective only if the integrality of the contract is transferred to the professional, and not only some of the stipulations.

This Regulatory decision, through "private enforcement", incentivizes consumers to transfer their compensation claim (around 250 euros) to collection companies which, in turn, discipline airlines to stay on schedule.

Oct. 6, 2020

Thesaurus : 05. CJCE - CJUE

Full reference: CJEU, Grand Chamber, 6th of October 2020, Privacy International c/ Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, C-623/17.

Read the judgment 

Read the summary of the judgment (in French)

Read the opinion of the Advocate General 

Read the reference for a preliminary ruling from the Investigatory Powers Tribunal - London (United Kingdom)

Updated: Sept. 5, 2019 (Initial publication: April 30, 2019)

Publications

Reference : Frison-Roche, M.-A., L'apport du Droit de la Compliance dans la Gouvernance d'Internet  (The contribution of Compliance Law to the Internet Governance), Report asked by the French Government, published the 15th July 2019, 139 pages ; report fully translated in English  later.

_____

 

Report Summary. Governing the Internet? Compliance Law can help.

Compliance Law is for the Policy Maker to aim for global goals that they requires to be achieved by companies in a position to do so. In the digital space built on the sole principle of Liberty, the Politics must insert a second principle: the Person. The respect of this One, in balance with the Freedom, can be required by the Policy Maker via Compliance Law, which internalises this specific pretention in the digital companies. Liberalism and Humanism become the two pillars of Internet Governance.

The humanism of European Compliance Law then enriches US Compliance law. The crucial digital operators thus forced, like Facebook, YouTube, Google, etc., must then exercise powers only to better achieve these goals to protect persons (against hatred, inadequate exploitation of data, terrorism, violation of intellectual property, etc.). They must guarantee the rights of individuals, including intellectual property rights. To do this, they must be recognized as "second level regulators", supervised by Public Authorities.

This governance of the Internet by Compliance Law is ongoing. By the European Banking Union. By green finance. By the GDPR. We must force the line and give unity and simplicity that are still lacking, by infusing a political dimension to Compliance: the Person. The European Court of Justice has always done it. The European Commission through its DG Connect is ready.

 

Plan of the Report (4 chapters): an ascertainement of the digitization of the world (1), the challenge of civilization that this constitutes (2), the relations of Compliance mechanisms as it should be conceived between Europe and the United States, not to mention that the world is not limited to them, with the concrete solutions that result from this (3) and concrete practical solutions to better organize an effective digital governance, inspired by what is particularly in the banking sector, and continuing what has already been done in Europe in the digital field, which has already made it exemplary and what it must continue, France can be force of proposal by the example (4).

Read the Report Summary in 3 pages (in English)

Read the Report Summary in 6 pages (in English)

 

 

 Read the written presentation of the Report done by Minister Cédric O (in French).

Listen to the oral  presentation of the Report by Minister Cédir O durant the parliamentary discussion of the law against hate contente on the Internet (in French). 

 

 Read the reporte (in French)

 

-----------

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read below  the 54 propositions that conclude the Report.

June 4, 2002

Thesaurus : 05. CJCE - CJUE

Full reference: CJCE, 4th of June 2002, Decision C-483/99, Commission v/ France (Total)

Read the decision

18 novembre 2020

Base Documentaire : 05. CJCE - CJUE

Référence complète: CJUE, 1ère chambre, 18 novembre 2020, arrêt C‑519/19, Ryanair DAC contre DelayFix

Lire l'arrêt

 

Résumé de l'arrêt

Cet arrêt de la CJUE du 18 novembre 2020 porte sur la clause attributive de juridiction pour tout litige dans les contrats de transport aérien, ici ceux de Ryanair. Cet arrêt est particulièrement intéressant sur la question de savoir si le cessionnaire professionnel (société de recouvrement) d'une créance dont le titulaire était un consommateur peut ou non se prévaloir des dispositions protectrices du consommateur, annulant la portée de ce type de clause.


La Cour reprend les critères et la solution déjà dégagée en 2019 à propos d'un contrat de crédit : la protection s'applique par le critère des parties au contrat et non pas des parties aux litiges. Une telle clause ne redevient efficace que si la totalité du contrat est transféré au professionnel, et non pas seulement une partie des stipulations.


Cette décision de Régulation, par un "private enforcement", incite les consommateurs à transférer leur créance d'indemnisation (250 euros environ) à des sociétés de recouvrement qui, à leur tour, disciplinent les compagnies aériennes pour respecter les horaires.

6 octobre 2020

Base Documentaire : 05. CJCE - CJUE

Référence complète: CJUE, grande chambre, 6 octobre 2020,  Privacy International c/ Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, C-623/17. 

 

Lire l'arrêt

Lire le résumé de l'arrêt 

Lire les conclusions de l'avocat général

Lire la demande de décision préjudicielle présentée par le Investigatory Powers Tribunal - London (Royaume-Uni)

 

Mise à jour : 5 septembre 2019 (Rédaction initiale : 30 avril 2019 )

Publications

Référence générale : Frison-Roche, M.-A., L'apport du Droit de la Compliance dans la Gouvernance d'Internet, rapport demandé par le Gouvernement, (remis en avril 2019), publié le 15 juillet 2019, 139 p. ; sera ultérieurement traduit en anglais.

_____

 

Résumé du Rapport. "Gouverner Internet » ? Le Droit de la Compliance peut y aider.

Il consiste pour le Politique à viser des buts globaux dont il exige qu’ils soient atteints par des entreprises en position de le faire. Dans l’espace numérique construit sur le seul principe de Liberté, le Politique doit insérer un second principe : la Personne. Le respect de celle-ci, en équilibre avec la Liberté, peut être exigée par le Politique via le Droit de la Compliance qui internalise cette construction dans les entreprises numériques. Libéralisme et Humanisme deviennent les deux piliers de la Gouvernance d’Internet.

L’humanisme de la Compliance européenne vient alors enrichir le droit américain de la Compliance. Les opérateurs numériques cruciaux ainsi contraints, comme Facebook, YouTube, Google, etc., ne doivent alors n’exercer des pouvoirs que pour  mieux atteindre ces buts de protection des personnes (contre la haine, l’exploitation inadéquate des données, le terrorisme, etc.). Ils doivent garantir les droits des personnes, notamment les droits de propriété intellectuelle. Pour ce faire, il faut leur reconnaître le statut de « régulateurs de second niveau », supervisés par les autorités publiques.

Cette gouvernance de l’Internet par le Droit de la Compliance est en cours. Par l’Union bancaire. Par la finance verte. Par le RGDP. Il faut forcer le trait et donner une unité et une simplicité qui manquent encore, en insufflant une prétention politique à la Compliance : la Personne. La Cour de Justice l’a toujours fait. La Commission européenne à travers sa DG Connect y est prête.

 

Plan du Rapport (4 chapitres) : un état des lieux sur la digitalisation du monde (1), l'enjeu de civilisation qu'il constitue (2), les rapports de compliance tel qu'il convient de les concevoir entre l'Europe et les États-Unis, sans oublier que le monde ne se limite pas à eux, avec les solutions concrètes qui en découlent (3) et les solutions concrètes concrètes pour mieux organiser une gouvernance effective du numérique, en s'inspirant de ce qui est fait, notamment en matière bancaire, et en poursuivant ce qu'a déjà fait l'Europe en matière numérique, ce que l'a rendu déjà exemplaire et ce qu'elle doit poursuivre, la France pouvant être force de proposition par l'exemple (4).

Lire le résumé du rapport en 3 pages.

Lire le résumé du rapport en 6 pages. 

 

Voir la présentation écrite du rapport par Monsieur le Ministre Cédric O.

Ecouter la présentation orale du rapport par Monsieur le Ministre Cédric O à l'occasion des discussions parlementaires de la loi contre les contenus haineux sur Internet. 

 

Lire le rapport.

 

-----------

 

 

 

 

 

Lire ci-dessous les 54 propositions qui concluent le Rapport.