Nov. 18, 2020

Thesaurus : 05. CJCE - CJUE

Full reference: CJEU, 1st chamber, 18th of November 2020, decision C‑519/19, Ryanair DAC vs DelayFix

Read the decision

 

Summary of the decision

This decision of the CJEU of 18th of November 2020 is about the jurisdiction clause for any dispute in air transport contracts, here those of Ryanair. This decision is especially interesting about the question to know whether the professional assignee (collection company) of a debt whose holder was a consumer may or may not avail itself of the consumer protection provisions, canceling the scope of this type of clause. 

The Court takes back the criteria and the solution already used in 2019 about a credit contract: the protection applies by the criterion of the parties to the contract and not of the parties to the disputes. Such a clause is effective only if the integrality of the contract is transferred to the professional, and not only some of the stipulations.

This Regulatory decision, through "private enforcement", incentivizes consumers to transfer their compensation claim (around 250 euros) to collection companies which, in turn, discipline airlines to stay on schedule.

Sept. 29, 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Full reference: Frison-Roche, M.-A., Judge between Platform and Regulator: current example of Uber case in U.K.Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 29th of September 2020

Read by freely subscribing the other news of the Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

 

Summary of the news:

On 22nd of September 2017, Transport of London (TFL), London Transport Regulator, refused to renew the licence, granted on 31st of May 2012 for 5 years, authorizing Uber to transport people because of criminal offenses committed by Uber's drivers. On 26th of June 2018, The Westminster Court prolonged Uber's licence for 15 months under the condition that the platform prevent the reproachable behaviors of its drivers. After these 15 months, the TFL refused once again to prolonge Uber's licence because of the persistence of aggressions against passengers. Uber, once again, contest this decision before the Westminster Court. 

In a decision of 28th of September 2020, the Court observes that during the 15 months, the platform implemented many measures to prevent aggressions, that the level of maturity of these measures has improved over time and that the number of offenses was reduced over the period (passing from 55 in 2018 to 4 in 2020). The Court estimated the the implementation of this actions is sufficient to grant a new licence to Uber. 

We can learn three lessons from this decision: 

  1. The Compliance obligation is not a result obligation but a mean obligation, which means that it is not reasonable to expect from a crucial operator (Uber, for instance) that it prevent every cases of agression but that it is salient to judge it on the effort it deploys to try to be closer to this ideal situation. Moreover, the crucial operator must be proactive, that is going away from the figure of passive subject of Law who apply measures enacted by the regulator in terms of fighting against aggressions to be an actor of the research of the best way to fight abusive behaviors, internalizing this "monumental goal. 
  2. The judge appreciates the violation committed by those whose the firm is responsible "in context", that is evaluates the concrete situation in a reasonable way. 
  3. It is the judge who decides in last resort and like the crucial operator, it must be reasonable. 

 

Read to go further:

Sept. 28, 2020

Thesaurus : 09. Juridictions étrangères

Full reference: Westminster Magistrates' Court, 28th of September 2020, Uber London Limited v. Transport for London 

Read the decision

Read Marie-Anne Frison-Roche's commentary in the Newsletter MAFR - Law, Regulation & Compliance 

Dec. 9, 2019

Thesaurus : Soft Law

Full reference: ARAFER, Opinion n°2019-083 relatif aux projets de décrets approuvant les statuts de la société nationale SNCF, de la société SNCF Réseau, de la filiale mentionnée au 5° de l’article L. 2111-9 du code des transports et de la société SNCF Voyageurs, et portant diverses dispositions relatives à ces mêmes entités (related to the project of decrees approving the status of the national societies SNCF, SNCF réseau, of the subsidy mentionnes at the 5° of the article L. 2111-9 du code des transports and of SNCF Voyageurs, and carrying some dispositions related to this bodies), 9th of December 2019

Read the opinion (in French)

Read the décret approuvant les status de la société nationale SNCF (in French)

Read the opinion of 9th of May 2019 having preceded the one of 9th of December 2019

May 9, 2019

Thesaurus : Soft Law

Full reference : ARAFER, Opinion n°2019-028 relatif au projet d'ordonnance portant diverses dispositions relatives à la nouvelle SNCF (related to the project of ordinance carrying some dispositions related to the new SNCF), 9th of May 2019

Read the opinion (in French)

Read the ordonnance portant diverses dispositions relatives à la nouvelle SNCF (in French)

Read the opinion of 9th of December 2019 following the one of 9th of May 2019

18 novembre 2020

Base Documentaire : 05. CJCE - CJUE

Référence complète: CJUE, 1ère chambre, 18 novembre 2020, arrêt C‑519/19, Ryanair DAC contre DelayFix

Lire l'arrêt

 

Résumé de l'arrêt

Cet arrêt de la CJUE du 18 novembre 2020 porte sur la clause attributive de juridiction pour tout litige dans les contrats de transport aérien, ici ceux de Ryanair. Cet arrêt est particulièrement intéressant sur la question de savoir si le cessionnaire professionnel (société de recouvrement) d'une créance dont le titulaire était un consommateur peut ou non se prévaloir des dispositions protectrices du consommateur, annulant la portée de ce type de clause.


La Cour reprend les critères et la solution déjà dégagée en 2019 à propos d'un contrat de crédit : la protection s'applique par le critère des parties au contrat et non pas des parties aux litiges. Une telle clause ne redevient efficace que si la totalité du contrat est transféré au professionnel, et non pas seulement une partie des stipulations.


Cette décision de Régulation, par un "private enforcement", incite les consommateurs à transférer leur créance d'indemnisation (250 euros environ) à des sociétés de recouvrement qui, à leur tour, disciplinent les compagnies aériennes pour respecter les horaires.

29 septembre 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Référence générale: Frison-Roche, M.-A., Juge entre plateforme et régulateur: l'exemple actuel de l'affaire Uber au Royaume-Uni (Judge between Platform and Regulator: current example of Uber case in U.K.), Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 29 septembre 2020

Lire par abonnement gratuit d'autres news de la Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

 

Résumé de la news:

Le 22 septembre 2017, Transport for London (TFL), régulateur des transports pour la ville de Londres, a refusé de renouveler la licence autorisant le transport de personnes qu'il avait accordé pour une durée de cinq ans, le 31 mai 2012, à l'entreprise Uber sous prétexte d'infractions pénales graves commises par les conducteurs de la plateforme. Le 26 juin 2018, la Westminster Court a prolongé la licence d'Uber pour une durée de quinze mois à condition que la plateforme préviennent les comportements répréhensibles de ses chauffeurs. Au terme de ces quinze mois, la TFL a de nouveau refusé de prolonger la licence d'Uber en raison de la persistance d'actes d'agressions envers les passagers. Uber a, une nouvelle fois, contesté cette décision devant la Westminster Court.

Dans son arrêt du 28 septembre 2020, la Cour constate que durant les quinze mois durant lesquels Uber s'était vu accordé une prolongation de sa licence à titre conditionnel par la Cour, la plateforme a mis en oeuvre de nombreuses mesures de prévention des agressions, que le niveau de maturité de ces mesures s'est même amélioré avec le temps et que le nombre de violations a été réduit sur la période (passant de 55 en 2018 à 4 en 2020). La Cour estime que la mise en oeuvre de ces actions est suffisante pour qu'Uber se voit accorder une nouvelle licence par le TFL. 

Nous pouvons retenir trois leçons de cette décision:

  1. L'obligation de Compliance n'est pas une obligation de résultat mais une obligation de moyens, ce qui signifie qu'il est aberrant d'attendre de l'opérateur crucial (ici Uber) qu'il prévienne tous les cas d'agressions mais qu'il est pertinent de le juger sur l'effort qu'il déploie pour tenter de se rapprocher de cet idéal. D'autre part, l'opérateur crucial se doit d'être proactif, c'est à dire de sortir de la figure du sujet de droit passif qui applique les mesures édictées par le régulateur en matière de lutte contre les aggressions mais d'être acteur de la recherche du meilleur moyen de combattre les comportements abusif en intériorisant ce "but monumental".
  2. Le juge apprécie la violation commise par ceux dont l'entreprise est responsable "en contexte", c'est-à-dire évalue la situation concrète de manière raisonnable.
  3. C'est le juge qui décide en dernier ressort et, par conséquent, comme l'opérateur crucial, il se doit de se montrer "raisonnable". 

 

Consulter par ailleurs pour aller plus loin: 

 

28 septembre 2020

Base Documentaire : 09. Juridictions étrangères

Référence complète: Westminster Magistrates' Court, 28 septembre 2020, Uber London Limited v. Transport for London

Lire le jugement (en anglais)

Lire le commentaire de Marie-Anne Frison-Roche dans la Newsletter MAFR - Law, Regulation & Compliance (en anglais)

9 décembre 2019

Base Documentaire : Soft Law

Référence complète: ARAFER, Avis n°2019-083 relatif aux projets de décrets approuvant les statuts de la société nationale SNCF, de la société SNCF Réseau, de la filiale mentionnée au 5° de l’article L. 2111-9 du code des transports et de la société SNCF Voyageurs, et portant diverses dispositions relatives à ces mêmes entités, 9 décembre 2019

Lire l'avis

Lire le décret approuvant les status de la société nationale SNCF

Lire l'avis du 9 mai 2019 ayant précédé celui du 9 décembre 2019

9 mai 2019

Base Documentaire : Soft Law

Référence complète: ARAFER, Avis n°2019-028 relatif au projet d'ordonnance portant diverses dispositions relatives à la nouvelle SNCF, 9 mai 2019

Lire l'avis

Lire l'ordonnance portant diverses dispositions relatives à la nouvelle SNCF

Lire l'avis du 9 décembre 2019 suivant celui du 9 mai 2019