June 18, 2020

Publications

This working document, "The Dreamed Compliance Law", is the basis for an article, written in French, "La compliance" (Compliance), inserted in the collective work to be published under the direction of Jean-Baptiste Racine, Le Droit économique du XXIème siècle (The XXIe century Economic Law , in the Serie Droit & Economie LGDJ-Lextenso, 2020.

________

 

No one can know what the Law of the 21st century will be. Pretending to know it is just not to realize its ignorance. Why then writing about it, since the future is always surprising?

One can only write about the unknown part of the Law of tomorrow. If the future is then modeled on what was written, so much the better for the prophet, a tribute that can, for example, be paid to Pierre Godé!footnote-1813 who described in 1999 what was going to be 10 years later "Law of the future" constituted by Environmental Law!footnote-1804. If the future denies the author or if its contours in no way follow the lines of the written word, this is not serious since the writing of the Law, even if it has the specificity of being partly prescriptive in that it has the power to write the future, a normative pen that rounds up letters!footnote-1805, it participates in all writing: above all to be that of a dream.

Lévi-Strauss argued that teaching is defined as dreaming out loud. Teaching and describing the Law of a century that we will never know gives even more freedom to dream about it. This freedom increases when the object is a branch of Law in the process of being born, state of the stammering "Compliance Law" of which some still maintain, as it was made for Regulation Law, that there is not existing. The hand can then, as it pleases, trace its beautiful or hideous features: what face will Compliance Law have, as soon as we assume that it will exist?

It may as well be a nightmare (I) as a happy dream (II).

It is up to us to choose in which category this branch of Law will flourish. Because what we can be sure of is this fulfillment. It is certainly already taking sides to presuppose the very existence of Compliance Law. Not only to consider it possibility with hostility because to be an enemy of something or someone is already to recognize their existence. Before that, two objections radically block the very existence of Compliance Law and their shadow remains in the future of it!footnote-1809.

Firstly, it is said that Compliance does not come under Law, but for example only ethics since it would consist in keeping well in companies which care about the interest of others or the planet, for example by spontaneous care of the environment; Compliance being a crystallization of social responsibility, the one for which we have our conscience, we express our "raison d'être" and we are not accountable!footnote-1807. Or it would consist in technologically putting in place tools for capturing technical information using data storage and processing methods. Compliance is then a sub-category of "Data Regulation"!!footnote-1814, a mechanical concept in which Law is no more present. In these two perspectives, Compliance Law cannot exist, no more tomorrow than it would exist today. These two radical conceptions, completely entrusting Compliance mechanisms to everyone except lawyers, do not make sense because it suffices to note the development of judgments and laws to measure the legal phenomenon already present!footnote-1808.

Second, there would be many Compliance mechanisms but insufficient to constitute a branch of Law. Indeed we would find Compliance in Company Law, Labor Law, Financial Law, Banking Law, Criminal Law, Administrative Law, European Law, International Law, etc.

These classic branches, which have been formed for so long, depending on the point of view adopted, would gain in modernity or be threatened with decay by this kind of extension which will be Compliance. There would thus be as many "little legal sectoral rules" as there are branches of law. These new internal developments would be like a new bud, on which care should be taken - if the tree regains its strength - or a weed to be eradicated - if the French garden loses its perspective.

Thus the matter being scattered as many as specialist lawyers, often criminalists or specialists in banking and Financial Law, then tomorrow all specialists in all branches of Law, this could constitute the most radical obstacle to the constitution of Compliance Law. Indeed, we would come back to confuse Compliance and the "modernization" of Law itself as a whole, since it would only be a question of perfecting each of the classic branches of the legal system.

If we keep in this half-sleep that is any projection in the future the hope of a constituted branch of Law, we must discard these two perspectives of annihilation, either in the total absence of Law or in recovery by all Law. To dismiss the sorrowful spirits who see no future in Compliance and keep only its enemies in the space of this article, let us assume that Compliance Law will exist in the 21st century. In what form and by what means, in the palm of which institutions, in the shadow of which legal system? Since it is a question of projecting ourselves onto the black screen of our nights of dreamy lawyers, let us take the current state only as a trailer. Like the one developed by the genius who by the contempt not only brought down into the flames of hell the cinema which has become a consumer industry with which producers force-feed us but offered us the vision of its future. What is what we see today the trailer? We let our imagination run wild since the trailer films are autonomous works compared to the film which follows them.

We have no idea what will happen and what we are watching from the brief and violent current images of Compliance Law, the cinema of which rather makes a hero of the whistleblower!footnote-1811 and a character of the narrow and ridiculous importance of the compliance officer!footnote-1812, does little to help us. But if we force the features of the present lineaments, the alternative of this Law in childhood is therefore that of a nightmare (I) or an idyllic solution for difficulties that will increase (II).

Everything will depend on the concept that we will retain of Compliance Law. Because the script is not written, because Compliance Law is a Law with a political dimension, that it is defined by the ambitions that we can claim to have by setting monumental goals that we are going to achieve, a claim that will make it one major branch of the Law of tomorrow, or we can abandon any claim, lower our heads and arms, and reject any claim. It is then that the power of Compliance Law, which will be no less great, will turn against us, human beings, as in a nightmare.

 

1

Mélanges Pierre Godé, off-trade book, 2019. 

3

It is in particular the idea of the movement of analysis of Law & Literature which poses that by telling the past in one way or another, by thus inventing it, Law, and in particular the Judge, invents the future and being written, creates it. On this movement which was powerful in the United States, v. Cabrillac, R. et Frison-Roche, M.-A., Droit et Littérature, à paraître. 

4

See infra I. Compliance Law as nightmarish octopus. 

5

On the fact that "social responsibility" makes it possible not to be legally responsible, cf. Supiot, A., Du nouveau au self-service normatif: la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, 2004; this is not the subject of this article and this question will not be developed here.

6

See, for instance, ..., Replace Regulation by norm by Regulation by Data, 2020. 

7

See, for instance, Frison-Roche, M.-A., Compliance Law (monography), 2016 ; Compliance Law, 2020. 

8

On what the cinema does with the whistleblower, with the availability of trailers and extracts from the films, see Frison-Roche, M.-A., introduction of the article The impossible unicity of the legal category of whistleblowers, 2019. 

9

Frison-Roche, M.-A., ... (retrouver sur LinkedIn). 

Oct. 1, 2018

Publications

This working paper serves as a basis for an article to be published in French in the review Concurrences.

 

Summary and introduction :

 

Compliance Law is a new branch of Law, still under construction. One can have a "narrow definition" of seeing it as the obligation of businesses to show that they are constantly and actively complying with the law. One can have a richer definition, of a substantive nature, defining it as the obligation or the own will of certain companies to achieve "monumental goals" that go beyond economic and financial performance.The Competition Law partly integrates its two conceptions of Compliance: Precursor, the Competition Law concretizes dynamically the first conception of the Compliance Law (I) It is with more difficulties but also much more future that the Competition Law can express in dialectic the second conception of the Compliance Law as internationalization of these "monumental goals", especially in the digital space (II).

18 juin 2020

Publications

Ce document de travail, "Le Droit rêvé de la Compliance", sert de base à un article, "La compliance", inséré dans l'ouvrage collectif à paraître sous la direction de Jean-Baptiste Racine, Le Droit économique du XXIème siècle, dans la collection Droit & Economie, LGDJ-Lextenso, 2020.

________

 

Personne ne peut savoir ce que sera le Droit du XXIième siècle. Prétendre le connaître, c'est juste ne pas réaliser son ignorance. Pourquoi alors écrire à ce propos, puisque le futur est toujours surprenant ?

L'on ne peut écrire que sur la part d'inconnu du Droit de demain. Si l'avenir ensuite se calque sur ce qui fût écrit, alors tant mieux pour le prophète, hommage pouvant, par exemple, ainsi être rendu à Pierre Godé!footnote-1813 qui décrivit en 1999 ce qu'allait être 10 ans plus tard ce "Droit de l'avenir" constitué par le Droit de l'environnement!footnote-1804. Si l'avenir dément l'auteur ou que ses contours ne suivent en rien les lignes de l'écrit, cela n'est pas pour autant grave car l'écriture du Droit, même si elle a pour spécificité d'être en partie prescriptive en ce qu'elle a le pouvoir d'écrire le futur, plume normative qui arrondit les lettres!footnote-1805,  elle participe de toute écriture : être avant tout celle d'un rêve.  

Lévi-Strauss soutenait qu'enseigner se définit comme rêver à voix haute. Enseigner et décrire le Droit d'un siècle que l'on ne connaitra pas donne plus encore la liberté de le rêver. Cette liberté s'accroît lorsque l'objet est une branche du Droit en train de naître, état du balbutiant "Droit de la Compliance" dont certains soutiennent encore , comme on le fît pour le Droit de la Régulation, qu'il n'existe pas. La main peut alors à sa guise en tracer les traits beaux ou hideux : quel visage aura le Droit de la Compliance, dès l'instant  qu'on suppute qu'il existera ?

Il pourra aussi bien être un cauchemar (I) qu'un rêve heureux (II).

C'est à nous de choisir dans quelle catégorie cette branche du Droit va s'épanouir. Car ce dont l'on peut être certain, c'est de cet épanouissement. C'est certes déjà prendre parti que de présupposer l'existence même du Droit de la Compliance. Non pas seulement de le considérer éventuellement avec hostilité car être ennemi de quelque chose ou de quelqu'un c'est déjà reconnaître leur existence. Avant cela, deux objections font radicalement barrage à l'existence même du Droit de la Compliance et leur ombre demeure dans l'avenir de celui-ci!footnote-1809.

En premier lieu, l'on affirme que la Compliance ne relèverait pas du Droit, mais par exemple de la seule éthique puisqu'elle consisterait à bien se tenir dans des entreprises qui se soucient de l'intérêt d'autrui ou de la planète, par exemple par une prise en charge spontanée de l'environnement ; la Compliance étant une cristallisation de la responsabilité sociale, celle pour laquelle l'on a sa conscience, l'on exprime sa raison d'être et l'on ne rend pas de comptes juridiques!footnote-1807.  Ou bien elle consisterait à mettre en place technologiquement des outils de captation d'information technique par des méthodes de stockage et traitement des données. La Compliance est alors une sous-catégorie de la "Régulation par la donnée"!footnote-1814, conception mécanique dans laquelle le Droit n'est pas davantage présent. Dans ces deux perspectives, le Droit de la Compliance ne peut pas exister, pas plus demain qu'il n'existerait aujourd'hui. Ces deux conceptions radicales, confiant entièrement les mécanismes de Compliance à tous sauf à des juristes, n'ont pas de sens car il suffit de constater le développement des jugements et des lois pour mesurer le phénomène juridique déjà présent!footnote-1808

En second lieu, il y aurait bien des mécanismes de Compliance mais insuffisants à constituer une branche du Droit. En effet l'on trouverait de la Compliance en Droit des sociétés, en Droit du travail, en Droit financier, en Droit bancaire, en Droit pénal, en Droit administratif, en Droit européen, en Droit international, etc. 

Ces branches classiques, depuis si longtemps constituées, suivant le point de vue adopté, gagneraient en modernité ou seraient menacées de décadence par cette sorte de prolongement que sera la Compliance. Il y aurait ainsi autant de "petits droits de la Compliance" qu'il y a de branches du Droit. Ces nouveaux développements internes seraient comme un nouveau bourgeon, sur lequel il faudrait apporter des soins - si l'arbre en reprend vigueur - ou mauvaise herbe à éradiquer - si le jardin à la française en perd sa perspective .

Ainsi la matière étant éparpillée en autant que de juristes spécialistes, souvent pénalistes ou spécialistes de droit bancaire et financier, puis demain tous les spécialistes de toutes les branches du Droit, cela pourrait constituer l'obstacle le plus radical à ce que Droit de la Compliance se constitue en lui-même. En effet, l'on en reviendrait à confondre la Compliance et la "modernisation" du Droit lui-même en son ensemble, puisqu'il ne s'agirait que de parfaire chacune des branches classiques du système juridique.

Si l'on garde dans ce demi-sommeil qu'est toute projection dans l'avenir l'espoir d'une branche du Droit constitué, l'on doit écarter ces deux perspectives d'anéantissement, dans l'absence totale de Droit comme dans le recouvrement par tout le Droit. Pour écarter les esprits chagrins qui ne voient aucun avenir à la Compliance et ne garder que ses ennemis dans l'espace de cet article, prenons comme conjecture que le Droit de la Compliance existera au XXIième siècle. Sous quelle forme et par quelles voies, dans la paume de quelles institutions, à l'ombre de quel système juridique ? Puisqu'il s'agit de se projeter sur l'écran noir de nos nuits de juristes rêveurs, ne prenons l'état actuel qu'en tant que film-annonce. Comme celui élaboré par le génie qui par Le mépris non seulement fît descendre dans les flammes de l'enfer le cinéma devenu industrie de consommation dont nous gavent les producteurs mais nous offrit la vision de son avenir. De quoi ce que nous voyons aujourd'hui est-il le film-annonce ? Nous avons laissé aller notre imagination puisque les films-annonces sont des oeuves autonomes par rapport au film qui les suit.

Nous n'avons pas idée de ce qui va advenir et ce que nous regardons des brèves et violentes images actuelles du Droit de la Compliance, dont le cinéma fait plutôt un héros du lanceur d'alerte!footnote-1811 et un personnage de peu d'importance  étriqué et ridicule du compliance officer!footnote-1812nous y aide peu. Mais si l'on force les traits des linéaments présents, l'alternative de ce Droit dans l'enfance est donc celui d'un cauchemar  (I) ou d'une solution idyllique pour des difficultés qui vont s'accroître (II).

Tout dépendra de la conception que l'on retiendra du Droit de la Compliance. Parce que le scénario n'est pas écrit, parce que le Droit de la Compliance est un Droit politique, qu'il se définit par les ambitions que nous pouvons prétendre avoir en fixant des buts monumentaux que nous allons atteindre, prétention qui en fera une branche majeure du Droit de demain, ou bien nous pouvons abandonner toute prétention, baisser la tête et les bras, et récuser toute prétention. C'est alors que la puissance du Droit de la Compliance, qui n'en sera pas moins grande, se retournera contre nous, êtres humains, comme dans un cauchemar. 

1

Mélanges Pierre Godé, ouvrage hors commerce, 2019. 

3

C'est notamment l'idée du mouvement d'analyse de Law & Literature  qui pose qu'en racontant le passé d'une façon ou d'une autre, en l'inventant donc, le Droit, et notamment le Juge, invente le futur et se faisant l'écrit, le crée. Sur ce mouvement qui fût puissant aux Etats-Unis, v. Cabrillac, R. et Frison-Roche, M.-A., Droit et Littérature, à paraître. 

4

V. infra I. Le Droit de la Compliance comme pieuvre cauchemardesque. 

5

Sur le fait que la "responsabilité sociétale" permet de ne pas être juridiquement responsable, v. Supiot, A., Du nouveau au self-service normatif: la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, 2004 ; ce n'est pas le sujet du présent article et cette question ne sera pas développée ici. 

6

V. par exemple, Remplacer la Régulation par la norme par la Régulation par la Donnée, 2020. 

7

V. par exemple Frison-Roche, M.-A., Le Droit de la Compliance, 2016 (monographie) ; Le Droit de la Compliance, 2020 (ouvrage). 

8

Sur ce que le cinéma fait du lanceur d'alerte, avec la mise à disposition des bandes-annonces et d'extraits des films, v. Frison-Roche, M.-A., l'introduction de l'article L'impossible unicité de la catégorie des lanceurs d'alerte, 2019. 

9

Frison-Roche, M.-A., ... (retrouver sur LinkedIn). 

1 octobre 2018

Publications

Ce document de travail a servi de base à un article paru dans la Revue Concurrences. 

 

Résumé et introduction :

 

Le Droit de la Compliance est une branche du Droit nouvelle, encore en construction. L'on peut en avoir une "définition restreinte, consistant à la concevoir comme l'obligation qu'ont les entreprises de donner à voir qu'elles se conforment en permanence et d'une façon active au Droit. L'on peut en avoir une définition plus riche, de nature substantielle, la définissant comme l'obligation ou la volonté propre qu'ont certaines entreprises de concrétiser des "buts monumentaux" dépassant la seule performance économique et financière. Le Droit de la concurrence intègre en partie ses deux conceptions de la Compliance. Précurseur , le Droit de la concurrence concrétise avec dynamisme la première conception du Droit de la Compliance  (I). C'est avec davantage de difficultés mais aussi beaucoup plus d'avenir que le Droit de la Concurrence peut exprimer en dialectique la seconde conception du Droit de la Compliance comme internationalisation de "buts monumentaux", notamment dans l'espace numérique (II).