Thesaurus : Doctrine

 Full Reference: Pottier, S.,  For European compliance, a vector of economic and political affirmation,  in Frison-Roche, M.-A. (ed.),Compliance Monumental Goals, series "Compliance & Regulation", Journal of Regulation & Compliance (JoRC) and Bruylant, to be published.

_____

► Article Summary (donne by the Journal of Regulation & Compliance):  Today's monumental goals, particularly environmental and climatic ones, are of a financial magnitude that we had not imagined but the essential stake is rather in the way of using these funds, that is to determine the rules which, to be effective and fair, should be global. The challenge is therefore to design these rules and organize the necessary alliance between States and companies.

It is no longer disputed today that the concern for these monumental goals and the concern for profitability of investments go hand in hand, the most conservative financiers admitting, moreover, that concern for others and for the future must be taken into account, the ESG rating and the "green bonds" expressing it.

Companies are increasingly made more responsible, in particular by the reputational pressure exerted by the request made to actively participate in the achievement of these goals, this insertion in the very heart of the management of the company showing the link between compliance and the trust of which companies need, CSR also being based on this relationship, the whole placing the company upstream, to prevent criticism, even if they are unjustified. All governance is therefore impacted by compliance requirements, in particular transparency.

Despite the global nature of the topic and the techniques, Europe has a great specificity, where its sovereignty is at stake and which Europe must defend and develop, as a tool for risk management and the development of its industry. Less mechanical than the tick the box, Europe makes the spirit of Compliance prevail, where the competitiveness of companies is deployed in a link with States to achieve substantial goals. For this, it is imperative to strengthen the European conception of compliance standards and to use the model. The European model of compliance arouses a lot of interest. The duty of vigilance is a very good example. It is of primary interest to explain it, develop it and promote it beyond Europe.

____ 

 

📝 see the general presentation of the book 📘Compliance Monumental Goals in which this article is published

________

Thesaurus : Doctrine

 Full Reference complète : Marty, F., L'apport des programmes de conformité à la compétitivité internationale : une perspective concurrentielle, in Frison-Roche, M.-A. (dir.), Les buts monumentaux de la Compliance, series "Régulations & Compliance", Journal of Regulation & Compliance (JoRC) and Dalloz, to be published.

___

► English Summary of this Article (done by the Journal of Regulation & Compliance):  The author analyzes economically the question of whether the compliance programs set up to respect competition rules are for the sole purpose of avoiding sanctions or also contribute to the goal of increasing the international economic performance of companies. which submit to them.

The author explains that companies integrate by duplication external standards to minimize the risk of sanctions, developing a "culture of compliance", which produces their competitiveness increase and the effectiveness of the legal and economic system. In addition, it reduces the cost of investment, which increases the attractiveness of the company.

In this, this presentation based on the postulate of the rationality of companies and investors, compliance programs can fall under self-regulation. The duplication of the law that they operate takes place largely according to "procedural" type methods.

____

📕go to the general presentation of the book, Les Buts Monumentaux de la Compliance, in which this article is published.

________

Nov. 4, 2021

Thesaurus : Doctrine

 Full Reference: Pottier, S.,  Pour une compliance européenne, vecteur d’affirmation économique et politique ("For European compliance, a vector of economic and political affirmation"), in Frison-Roche, M.-A. (dir.), Les buts monumentaux de la Compliance, series "Régulations & Compliance", Journal of Regulation & Compliance (JoRC) and Dalloz, p.475-482.

___

► Article English Summary (donne by the Journal of Regulation & Compliance):  Today's monumental goals, particularly environmental and climatic ones, are of a financial magnitude that we had not imagined but the essential stake is rather in the way of using these funds, that is to determine the rules which, to be effective and fair, should be global. The challenge is therefore to design these rules and organize the necessary alliance between States and companies.

It is no longer disputed today that the concern for these monumental goals and the concern for profitability of investments go hand in hand, the most conservative financiers admitting, moreover, that concern for others and for the future must be taken into account, the ESG rating and the "green bonds" expressing it.

Companies are increasingly made more responsible, in particular by the reputational pressure exerted by the request made to actively participate in the achievement of these goals, this insertion in the very heart of the management of the company showing the link between compliance and the trust of which companies need, CSR also being based on this relationship, the whole placing the company upstream, to prevent criticism, even if they are unjustified. All governance is therefore impacted by compliance requirements, in particular transparency.

Despite the global nature of the topic and the techniques, Europe has a great specificity, where its sovereignty is at stake and which Europe must defend and develop, as a tool for risk management and the development of its industry. Less mechanical than the tick the box, Europe makes the spirit of Compliance prevail, where the competitiveness of companies is deployed in a link with States to achieve substantial goals. For this, it is imperative to strengthen the European conception of compliance standards and to use the model. The European model of compliance arouses a lot of interest. The duty of vigilance is a very good example. It is of primary interest to explain it, develop it and promote it beyond Europe.

____ 

 

📝 read the general presentation of the book, Les Buts Monumentaux de la Compliance, in which this article is published.

______

Aug. 24, 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Full reference: Frison-Roche, M.-A., The control by regulator of the essential infrastructure manager's investment plan: example of electric network and the notion of "doctrine"Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 24th of August 2020

Read by freely subscribing other news of the Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

 

Summary of the news

On 31st of July 2020, the Commission de Régulation de l'Energie (CRE and French energy regulator) has examined the investment plan of the French electric network manager (RTE) as it does every year. This investment plan is an economic document but it also contains societal purposes, especially the adaptation of the electric network in order to integrate renewable energies. 

The control by the CRE is not a financial control. The crucial operator (RTE) is free to decide the way it wants to manage its budget. The CRE just advices on the financial side by recommending for exemple to be more flexible in its financial strategies. The true CRE's control is about the investment plan's general orientations, the methodology of needs analysis and crucial operator's investment choices which must be aligned with those of the regulator.

Such a control leads to the emergence of an "investment doctrine" from the side of the crucial operator, mixing its own choices and the regulator's guidelines. Beyond this, the elaboration of the investment plan is the result of a true co-writing between the regulator and the firm which discuss together, exchanges points of view and methods. Such a method, expressing a kind of coregulation, could be used in other sectors. 

Feb. 13, 2019

Thesaurus : Doctrine

Référence générale : Patrick Wajsman (dir.), Politique internationale, dossier spécial, Investissement responsable : l'essor, n°162, hiver 2018-2019, 119 p.

 

Consulter le sommaire de la Revue.

 

Consulter la présentation des entretiens suivants :

 

Boujnah, S., Places boursières : promouvoir un modèle européen.

Jensen, S., Norvège : exemple d'un fonds souverain éthique.

Ribera, T., Faciliter la transition écologique : ce que peut l'État.

 

Updated: July 31, 2013 (Initial publication: Oct. 4, 2011)

Teachings : Les Grandes Questions du Droit, semestre d'automne 2011

La première partie de la question des "espaces du droit" sera consacrée à leur perception à travers la géographie. Au-delà de l’espace français, sont examinés l’espace européen et l’espace mondial. L’espace virtuel semble une aporie en ce qu’il est un espace sans géographie pour le droit.

May 11, 2005

Editorial responsibilities : Direction de la collection "Droit et Économie", L.G.D.J. - Lextenso éditions (30)

Référence complète : Parachkévova, I., Le pouvoir de l'investisseur professionnel dans la société cotée, préface de Jean-Pierre Gastaud, coll. "Droit et Économie", LGDJ - Lextenso éditions, 2005, 245 p.

 

Présentation de l'ouvrage : Les rapports entre pouvoir et financement sont à la base de l'organisation de toute société. Néanmoins, la société cotée transforme cette relation qui se diversifie sous l'effet de la segmentation des investisseurs sur le marché.

En pratique, il existe un double rapport pouvoir-financement, altérant les principes classiques. D'une part, le pouvoir se dissocie du financement par l'épargne, ce qui provoque une remise en cause évidente du principe de proportionnalité et de la démocratie « anonyme ». D'autre part, le pouvoir s'associe au financement apporté par les investisseurs professionnels, cette nouvelle connexion entraînant à son tour une déformation du principe de proportionnalité et fragilisant la société.

Comment cette évolution se traduit-elle en droit positif ?

À l'heure actuelle, la dissociation entre pouvoir et financement par l'épargne est prise en compte par une multitude de règles distinctes, en droit des sociétés comme en droit boursier. À l'inverse, l'association spécifique entre pouvoir et financement par les investisseurs professionnels est méconnue, jusque dans son principe même. Il n'existe pas de règles appropriées au rôle particulier joué par l'investisseur professionnel. Il faut donc imaginer et proposer un statut juridique adapté, ouvrant sur un nouveau champ d'application du principe d'égalité entre actionnaires. Celui-ci s'appliquerait non seulement en fonction de la forme juridique de la participation, mais également en fonction du statut économique des porteurs.

 

 

Lire la préface de Monsieur le Jean-Pierre Gastaud. 

 

Lire la quatrième de couverture.

Lire la table des matières.

 

Consulter l'ensemble de la collection dans laquelle l'ouvrage a été publié.

Base Documentaire : Doctrine

 Référence complète : Pottier, S.,  In favour of European compliance, a vehicle of economic and political assertion,  in Frison-Roche, M.-A. (dir.),Compliance Monumental Goals, series "Compliance & Regulation", Journal of Regulation & Compliance (JoRC) et Bruylant, à paraître.

 

_____

► Résumé de l'article (fait par le Journal of Regulation & Compliance):  Today's monumental goals, particularly environmental and climatic ones, are of a financial magnitude that we had not imagined but the essential stake is rather in the way of using these funds, that is to determine the rules which, to be effective and fair, should be global. The challenge is therefore to design these rules and organize the necessary alliance between States and companies.

It is no longer disputed today that the concern for these monumental goals and the concern for profitability of investments go hand in hand, the most conservative financiers admitting, moreover, that concern for others and for the future must be taken into account, the ESG rating and the "green bonds" expressing it.

Companies are increasingly made more responsible, in particular by the reputational pressure exerted by the request made to actively participate in the achievement of these goals, this insertion in the very heart of the management of the company showing the link between compliance and the trust of which companies need, CSR also being based on this relationship, the whole placing the company upstream, to prevent criticism, even if they are unjustified. All governance is therefore impacted by compliance requirements, in particular transparency.

Despite the global nature of the topic and the techniques, Europe has a great specificity, where its sovereignty is at stake and which Europe must defend and develop, as a tool for risk management and the development of its industry. Less mechanical than the tick the box, Europe makes the spirit of Compliance prevail, where the competitiveness of companies is deployed in a link with States to achieve substantial goals. For this, it is imperative to strengthen the European conception of compliance standards and to use the model. The European model of compliance arouses a lot of interest. The duty of vigilance is a very good example. It is of primary interest to explain it, develop it and promote it beyond Europe.

____ 

 

📝 consulter la présentation générale du livre 📘Compliance Monumental Goals, dans lequel l'article est publié

________

4 novembre 2021

Base Documentaire : Doctrine

 Référence complète : Pottier, S.,  Pour une compliance européenne, vecteur d’affirmation économique et politique, in Frison-Roche, M.-A. (dir.), Les buts monumentaux de la Compliance, série "Régulations & Compliance", Journal of Regulation & Compliance (JoRC) et Dalloz, à paraître.

___

► Résumé de l'article (fait par le Journal of Regulation & Compliance):  Les buts monumentaux d'aujourd'hui, notamment environnementaux et climatique, sont d'une ampleur financière que l'on n'avait pas imaginé mais l'enjeu essentiel est plutôt dans la façon d'utiliser les fonds, c'est-à-dire les règles qui pour être efficaces et justes devraient être globales. L'enjeu est donc de concevoir ces règles et d'organiser l'alliance nécessaire entre les Etats et les entreprises. 

Il n'est plus aujourd'hui contesté que le souci de ces buts monumentaux et le souci de rentabilité des investissements font de paire, les financiers les plus conservateurs admettant d'ailleurs que le souci des autres et du futur doit être pris en compte en soi, la notation ESG t les "obligations vertes" le traduisant. 

Les entreprises sont de plus en plus responsabilisées, notamment par la pression réputationnelle exercée par la demande faite de participer activement à la réalisation de ces buts, cette insertion au cœur même du management de l'entreprise montrant le lien entre la compliance et la confiance dont les entreprises ont besoin, la RSE étant aussi basée sur cette relation, l'ensemble plaçant l'entreprise en amont, pour prévenir des reproches, fussent-ils injustifiés. L'ensemble de la gouvernance est donc impacté par les exigences de compliance, notamment la transparence. 

Malgré la globalité du sujet et des techniques, l'Europe a une grande spécificité, où se joue sa souveraineté et qu'elle doit défendre et développer, comme outil de gestion du risque et de développement de son industrie. Moins mécanique que le tick the box, l'Europe fait prévaloir l'esprit de la Compliance, où la compétitivité des entreprises se déploie dans un lien avec les Etats pour atteindre des buts substantiels. Pour cela, il est impératif de renforcer la conception européenne des normes de compliance et d'en prévaloir le modèle. Le modèle européen de compliance suscite beaucoup d'intérêts. Le devoir de vigilance en est un très bon exemple. Il est d'un intérêt premier de l'expliquer, de le développer et de le promouvoir au-delà de l'Europe. 

____ 

 

📝 Consulter une présentation générale du livre, Les Buts Monumentaux de la Compliance, dans lequel cet article s'insère.

______

24 août 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Référence générale: Frison-Roche, M.-A., Le contrôle par le Régulateur des plans d'investissement des gestionnaires d'infrastructures essentielles : l'exemple du réseau électrique et la notion de "doctrine", (The control by regulator of the essential infrastructure manager's investment plan: example of electric network and the notion of "doctrine"), Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 24 août 2020

Lire par abonnement gratuit les autres news de la Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

 

Résumé de la news

Le 31 juillet 2020, La Commission de Régulation de l'Energie (CRE) a examiné le plan d'investissement du gestionnaire du réseau électrique français RTE comme il le fait chaque année. Ce plan d'investissement est un document économique mais il contient également des finalités sociétales, en particulier d'adapter le réseau d'électricité en vue d'intégrer les énergies renouvelables. 

Le contrôle de la CRE n'est pas qu'un contrôle financier. L'opérateur crucial qu'est RTE est libre de décider la manière dont il souhaite gérer son budget. La CRE ne fait pas que formuler des conseils sur le plan financier en recommandant par exemple d'être davantage flexible dans ses stratégies financières. Le véritable contrôle de la CRE concerne les orientations générales du plan d'investissement, la méthodologie de l'analyse des besoins et les choix d'investissement de l'opérateur crucial devant être alignés sur ceux du régulateur. 

Un tel contrôle donne lieu à l'émergence d'une "doctrine d'investissement" du côté de l'opérateur crucial, mélangeant ses propres choix et les lignes directrices du Régulateur qui le supervise. Au-delà de cela, l'élaboration du plan d'investissement relève d'une véritable corédaction entre le Régulateur et l'entreprise qui discutent ensemble, échangent des points de vue et des méthodes . Une telle méthode de travail, exprimant une sorte de corégulation, pourrait également s'installer dans d'autres secteurs. 

_____

 

 

 

13 février 2019

Base Documentaire : Doctrine

Référence générale : Patrick Wajsman (dir.), Politique internationale, dossier spécial, Investissement responsable : l'essor, n°162, hiver 2018-2019, 119 p.

 

Consulter le sommaire de la Revue.

 

Consulter la présentation des entretiens suivants :

 

Boujnah, S., Places boursières : promouvoir un modèle européen.

Jensen, S., Norvège : exemple d'un fonds souverain éthique.

Ribera, T., Faciliter la transition écologique : ce que peut l'État.

 

Mise à jour : 31 juillet 2013 (Rédaction initiale : 4 octobre 2011 )

Enseignements : Les Grandes Questions du Droit, semestre d'automne 2011

La première partie de la question des "espaces du droit" sera consacrée à leur perception à travers la géographie. Au-delà de l’espace français, sont examinés l’espace européen et l’espace mondial. L’espace virtuel semble une aporie en ce qu’il est un espace sans géographie pour le droit.

11 mai 2005

Responsabilités éditoriales : Direction de la collection "Droit et Economie", L.G.D.J. - Lextenso éditions (29)

Référence complète : Parachkévova, I., Le pouvoir de l'investisseur professionnel dans la société cotée, préface de Jean-Pierre Gastaud, coll. "Droit et Économie", LGDJ - Lextenso éditions, 2005, 245 p.

 

Présentation de l'ouvrage : Les rapports entre pouvoir et financement sont à la base de l'organisation de toute société. Néanmoins, la société cotée transforme cette relation qui se diversifie sous l'effet de la segmentation des investisseurs sur le marché.

En pratique, il existe un double rapport pouvoir-financement, altérant les principes classiques. D'une part, le pouvoir se dissocie du financement par l'épargne, ce qui provoque une remise en cause évidente du principe de proportionnalité et de la démocratie « anonyme ». D'autre part, le pouvoir s'associe au financement apporté par les investisseurs professionnels, cette nouvelle connexion entraînant à son tour une déformation du principe de proportionnalité et fragilisant la société.

Comment cette évolution se traduit-elle en droit positif ?

À l'heure actuelle, la dissociation entre pouvoir et financement par l'épargne est prise en compte par une multitude de règles distinctes, en droit des sociétés comme en droit boursier. À l'inverse, l'association spécifique entre pouvoir et financement par les investisseurs professionnels est méconnue, jusque dans son principe même. Il n'existe pas de règles appropriées au rôle particulier joué par l'investisseur professionnel. Il faut donc imaginer et proposer un statut juridique adapté, ouvrant sur un nouveau champ d'application du principe d'égalité entre actionnaires. Celui-ci s'appliquerait non seulement en fonction de la forme juridique de la participation, mais également en fonction du statut économique des porteurs.

 

 

Lire la préface de Monsieur le Jean-Pierre Gastaud. 

 

Lire la quatrième de couverture.

Lire la table des matières.

 

Consulter l'ensemble de la collection dans laquelle l'ouvrage a été publié.