March 22, 2020

Publications

This working paper is the basis for an article in the French Law Journal Le Clunet.

 

When we compare the terms "Compliance" and "Extraterritoriality", it is often with dissatisfaction, even anger and indignation. On the momentum, after having expressed a principle of disapproval of such a merger, attention is focused on how we can fight against it, to break the link between Compliance and Extraterritoriality. But do we have to go so fast? Is this negative initial assessment correct?

Indeed, thus gone, it is frequently explained that the binding mechanisms of Compliance are suffered, that they come from abroad!footnote-1750, that they apply with efficiency but in an illegitimate way, without agreement of the one who must submit to it, whose resistance is therefore certainly ineffective but nevertheless justified. In the same spirit, when we start to shell the cases, like so many scars, sort of rosary, even crown of thorns, BNPP case!footnote-1718, Astom case!footnote-1717, etc., the wounds not yet closed turn into reproaches made against the rules, public authorities, even reproaches made against named people.

We are leaving this kind of complaint against X, which targets what would be this appalling "Compliance", this Law which would be both hostile and mechanical which would not have been able to stay within the limits of borders, Compliance being thus placed in contrast to sovereignty and protection, which presuppose staying within its limits!footnote-1716 and being able to protect companies from abroad. More concretely, this presentation targets more directly the United States, which uses "the legal weapon", slipped under what is then designated as "the artifice of the Law" with extraterritorial scope. But this effect would in reality be the very object of the whole: their hegemonic will to better organize at least a global racket, notably through the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) and at best a world government through notably the embargoes.Those who believed otherwise would be naive or foolish. This silences the opponents because who likes this costume? So the world would be put in a ruled cut; what the mafia could not have done, Compliance Law would have obtained, offering the whole world to the United States thanks to the extraterritoriality of its national Law.

Compliance Law would thus become the very negation of Law, since it has the effect, even the purpose (barely concealed by strategic, powerful and shameless States), of counting borders for nothing, whereas Public International Law, in that it is built between the sovereign subjects of law that are the States presupposes the primary respect for borders to better exceed them while Private International Law takes the same postulate to better welcome foreign Law in situations presenting a foreign element!footnote-1726. Jurists believed in the force of Law; by Compliance, we would return to the sad reality that only the powerful, here the United States, dominate and - ironically - it is under the pretext of Law that they do it. It would be necessary to be well duped, or accomplice, to see there still legal where there is only the balance of powers. When one is more intelligent or skilful than that, one understands that the "small" can only be "subject" to the Compliance Law, one would have to be powerful to be the normative source and its enforcement agent. It is then towards this mis-named Department of Justice (DoJ) that the fearful, hateful and resigned glances turn. 

If you see it that way, what should you do then? The answer is obvious: react!

It is necessary to save the sovereignty, France, companies, the Law itself. If that is how the question is posed, how can we disagree? It is therefore necessary to destroy the Compliance Law and the extra-territoriality of American Law which had found this "Trojan horse", an expression so frequently used. This is the basis for the administrative reports available, for example the Berger-Lellouche!footnote-1719 parliamentary reports and the Gauvainfootnote-1720 report. Both of them broadly develop the two preceding claims, namely that the extra-priority of compliance mechanisms is illegitimate and harmful, since it is a mechanism invented by the Americans and harming the Europeans, or even invented by the Americans to harm Europeans, the description being made in much more violent terms than those used here. The description seems acquired, the reflections therefore relate to the remedies. The reaction is most often to "block" the Compliance Law in its extraterritorial effect.

But without discussing the effectiveness of the remedies proposed downstream, it is necessary to return to this description so widely shared made upstream. Because many elements on the contrary lead to affirm that ComplianceLaw first of all and by nature can only be extraterritorial and that it must be. Whether or not the State in which it was created has malicious intentions. The description which is made to us most often describes particular cases from which we draw generalities, but we cannot reduce Compliance Law to the already cooled cases, as BNPP case, or to the always hot case of the American embargo on Iran. Furthermore, one cannot take the issue of embargoes and draw conclusions, legitimate for it, but which would apply to the whole of Compliance Law. The fact that theCompliance Law is a branch of Law at the stage still of emergence can lead to this confusion which consists in taking the part for the whole, but it is very regrettable because what is justified for the embargoes does not is in no way relevant for all Compliance Law, of which precisely the Law of embargoes is only a small part, even an abusive use. This overlapping is not often perceived, because the definition of Compliance Law and its criterion are not clearly enough defined, namely the existence of a "monumental goal"!footnote-1725, which does not exist in an embargo decided unilaterally by an order decreed by the President of the United States, but which exists in all other cases and fully justifies extraterritoriality, extraterritoriality which is even consubstantial with Compliance Law (I).

Once we have distinguished the embargoes, as an atypical, sometimes even illegitimate part, of Compliance Law, we should continue this work of distinction by emphasizing that the United States has certainly invented Compliance Law!footnote-1721 but only developed a mechanical concept for the prevention and management of systemic risks. Europe has taken up this systemic conception of the protection of systems, for example financial or banking, but superimposed another conception, drawing on its deep humanist tradition!footnote-1722, whose protection of personal data is only an example and whose monumental goal is the protection of the human being. This primary concern then justifies the European use of Compliance mechanisms to interfere with global objects regardless of their location, especially the environment, and to block the entry onto the ground of objects that enter, which is contrary to Competition Law but builds a legitimate barrier under this Compliance Law, in the indifference of an extraterritorial origin (II).

Indeed, this branch of the new Law which is Compliance Law is not reducible to Competition Law!footnote-1723, any more than it is not reducible to a method. It is a substantial, extraterritorial Law because the "monumental goals" which give it substantial unity are extraterritorial. This can directly contribute to the future of a Europe which on the one hand will be able to pursue, in an extraterritorial manner, monumental humanist goals, in the field of the environment or the protection of personal information or access to the Law (in particular by the technique of compliance programs) and which, on the other hand, by the techniques of traceability of products!footnote-1724, will have the means not to bring in products manufactured in an indecent manner, except in countries which do not grant value than in Competition Law to enter the WTO.

 

 

Read the developments below.

 

1

Ce par quoi l'on commence presque toujours, le Droit de la Compliance étant "étrange" notamment parce qu'il vient des Etats-Unis, v. Frison-Roche, M.-A., Le Droit de la Compliance, 2016. 

2

V. par ex. Monéger, cas BNPP, ...., in Frison-Roche, M.-A. (dir)., ...

3

V. par ex. Bismuth, R. Pour une appréhension nuancée de l'extraterritorialité du droit américain - quelques réflexions autour des procédures et sanctions visant Alstom et BNP Paris, 2015. 

4

Sur la définition de la souveraineté comme l'aptitude à comprendre ses limites et à demeurer dans ses limites, voire à les instituer soi-même, la souveraineté étant intime de l'idée d'Etat de Droit, v. Supiot, A., Mondialisation et Globalisation, ....

5

Pour le rappel de ces éléments de base et leur mise en perspective par rapport au Droit de la Compliance, v. Frison-Roche, M.-A. Le cas de l'Amazonie, ....

6

Rapport Berger-Lellouche, ....

7

Rapport Gauvain, ....

8

Critère dégagé en 2016 : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Le Droit de la Compliance. 

9

Frison-Roche, M.-A., Compliance : hier, aujourd'hui, demain, 2017. 

10

Frison-Roche, M.-A., Compliance Europe humaniste, 2019. 

11

Frison-Roche, M.-A., Droit de la concurrence et Droit de la compliance, 2018

12

Sur les liens entre le Droit de la Compliance et la technologie de la blockchain, v. ....

Updated: Oct. 25, 2017 (Initial publication: May 27, 2016)

Publications

This working paper initially served as a basis for a synthesis report made in French in the colloquium organized by the Association Henri Capitant in the International German Days on the subject of "Le Droit et la Mondialisation" (Law and Globalization).

It serves as a second basis for the article (written in English, with a Spanish Summary) to be published in the Brezilian journal Rarb - Revista de Arbitragem e Mediação  (Revue d`Arbitrage et Médiation).

In it French version, it serves as a basis for the article, written in French, to be published in the book La Mondialisation.

In this working paper, notes are included, including developments, references and links to work and reflections on the theme of globalization.
It uses the Bilingual Dictionary of the Law of Regulation and Compliance.

To access the French version of the working paper, click on the French flag.

____

 

Globalization is a confusing phenomenon for the jurist. The first thing to do is to take its measure. Once it has been taken, it is essential that we allow ourselves to think of something about it, even if we have to think about it. For example, on whether the phenomenon is new or not, which allows a second assessment of what is taking place. If, in so far as the law can and must "pretend" to defend every being, a universal claim destined to face the global field of forces, the following question - but secondary - is formulated: quid facere? Nothing ? Next to nothing ? Or regulate? Or can we still claim that the Law fulfills its primary duty, which is to protect the weak, including the forces of globalization?

Let us begin the peripheries of Law in globalization.

____

Globalization is a confusing phenomenon for everyone. It is no doubt even more so for the jurist for whom words are normative acts and which stumbles on the definition of globalization!footnote-927.

Perhaps this is why lawyers are as impressed by the argument of globalization, which is often cited to argue that the time of imperative legislations is over, or that Roman law may well turn into its grave, Globalization would pass over the corpse of the Civil Code. The more mysterious the notion is, the more names it has, the more it sets back the jurist of good tradition, global trade being as upgraded when it is designated as "globalization", the zest of English leading to the globalization that parses Of reports, even written in French or Spanish or Italian. . The global language being English, the Globalization is English also.

If we take up the movement of this wave, it is appropriate first of all to take stock of what is globalization (I). It is only relevant that the usefulness, if not necessity, is posed to think about this movement of globalization. There is a legal imperative to formulate an assessment if it is posited that the Law has the mission of protecting every human being, a concern that is supported by the Law. Then, because Law is also a technique, we can ask ourselves the question of Quid facere? But in practice it can not be said that under the pretext that the field of the world forces is very powerful and that the Law appears to be very weak in its claims to protect every human being in its dignity, it would for this reason disappear from the World stage (II).

On the contrary. It is at the foot of the wall of Globalization that today we can measure the claim of Law to defend humanity.

1

S. for ex. Frison-Roche, M.-A., Les deux mondialisations (The two globalizations), written en French,

24 avril 2020

Publications

This interview was conducted in French with Olivia Dufour, for an article published in French in the digital publication Actualité Juridique.

Its subject is  the confrontation between the current health crisis situation and the Compliance Law. 

 

Summary. After defining Compliance Law, distinguishing the procedural and poor definition and the substantial and rich definition, the starting point is to admit the aporia: the type of health crisis caused by Covid-19 will be renewed and it is imperative to prevent it, even to manage it, then to organize the crisis exit. Public Authorities are legitimate to do so, but because this type of crisis being global and the State being consubstantially linked to borders, States are hardly powerful. Their traditional International Law shows their  limits in this current crisis and one cannot hope that this configulration will improve radically.

In contrast, some companies and markets, notably the financial markets, are global. But the markets are not legitimate to carry out such missions and counting on the generosity of certain large companies is far too fragile in front of the "monumental goal" that is the prevention of the next health crisis, crisis which must never happen.

How to get out of this aporia?

By Compliance Law, basis of, in a literal and strong sense, the "Law of the Future". 

We need to be inspired by the Banking and Financial Compliance Law. Designed in the United States after the 1929 crisis to tend towards the "monumental goal" of the absence of a new devastating crisis in the country and the world,  this set of new legal mechanisms gave duty and power of supervision, regulation and compliance to market authorities and central bankers. These are independent of governments but in constant contact with them. Today, they claim to have as first priority the fight against climate change. Now and for the future, they must also be given the responsibility and the powers to prevent a global health disaster, similar to a global ecological disaster, similar to a global financial disaster. This does not require a modification of the texts because their mandate consists in fighting instability. Stability must become a primary legal principle, of which the fight against monetary instability was only a first example. By the new use that central banks must make of it by preventing and managing health crises, Compliance Law will ensure that the future will be not catastrophic.

22 mars 2020

Publications

Ce document de travail sert de base à un article à paraître au Clunet

 

Lorsque l'on rapproche les deux termes de "Compliance" et d' "Extraterritorialité", c'est souvent pour n'en éprouver que du mécontentement, voire de la colère et de l'indignation. Comment admettre que des décisions nationales de sanction ou d'injonction puissent avoir une portée extraterritoriale par le seul usage quasiment magique de ce qui serait l'impératif de "Compliance" ?! Sur la lancée, après avoir formulé une désapprobation de principe à l'égard d'un tel rapprochement constituant en lui-même une sorte de couple scandaleux, l'attention de ceux qui s'en offusque se concentre sur la façon dont l'on pourrait lutter contre le couplage, pour mieux casser ce lien noué entre la Compliance et l'Extraterritorialité.

Mais doit-on aller si vite ?  Cette appréciation négative de départ est-elle exacte ? 

En effet parti ainsi l'on explique  fréquemment que les mécanismes contraignants de Compliance sont subis par ceux auxquels ils s'appliquent, notamment banques et compagnies pétrolières, qu'ils viennent de l'étranger!footnote-1750, qu'il se développent avec efficacité mais d'une façon illégitime, sans l'accord de celui qui doit s'y soumettre, celui dont la résistance est donc certes inopérante mais pourtant justifiée. Dans le même esprit, lorsqu'on se met à égrener les cas, comme autant de cicatrices, sorte de chapelet, voire de couronne d'épines, cas BNPP!footnote-1718, cas Astom!footnote-1717, etc., ces blessures non encore refermées se transforment de reproches faits aux règles, aux autorités publiques, voire en reproches faits à personnes dénommées.

Puis l'on quitte cette sorte de plainte contre X pour viser d'une façon générale ce qui serait cette épouvantable "Compliance", ce Droit qui serait à la fois hostile et mécanique, qui n'aurait pas su rester dans les limites des frontières. La Compliance est ainsi placée à l'opposé de la souverainteté et de la protection par le Droit, lesquelles supposent de demeurer dans ses limites!footnote-1716 et d'être en mesure de protéger les entreprises contre "l'étranger". Sous les généralités, cette présentation vise plus directement les Etats-Unis, qui utiliseraient "l'arme juridique", glissée sous ce qui est alors désigné comme "l'artifice du Droit" à portée extraterritoriale. Mais cet effet serait en réalité l'objet même de l'ensemble : leur volonté hégémonique pour mieux organiser au minimum un racket mondial, à travers notamment le Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) et au mieux un gouvernement mondial à travers notamment les embargos.

Ceux qui croiraient le contraire seraient bien des naïfs ou des sots ! Affirmation qui fait taire les contradicteurs, car qui aime ces costumes-là ? Ainsi l'opinion majoritaire, voire unanime, estime que les continents seraient mis en coupe réglée ; ce que la mafia n'avait pu faire, le Droit de la Compliance l'aurait obtenu, offrant le monde entier aux Etats-Unis grâce à l'extraterritorialité de leur Droit national. 

Le Droit de la Compliance deviendrait ainsi la négation même du Droit, puisqu'il a pour effet, voire pour objet (dans cette présentation un objet à peine dissimulé par un Etat stratège, puissant et sans vergogne), de compter pour rien les frontières, alors que le Droit international public, en ce qu'il se construit entre les sujets de droit souverains que sont les Etats, présuppose le respect premier des frontières pour mieux les dépasser tandis que le Droit international privé prend le même postulat pour mieux accueillir la loi étrangère dans les situations présentant un élément d'extranéité!footnote-1726. Ainsi, naguère des juristes purent défendre la force du Droit ; mais par la Compliance, l'on en reviendrait à la triste réalité comme quoi seuls  les puissants, ici les Etats-Unis, dominent et - ironie du sort - ce serait sous prétexte de Droit qu'ils le feraient ! Il faudrait donc être bien dupe, ou complice, ou valet,  pour voir encore du juridique là où il n'y aurait que du rapport de force. Quand on est plus intelligent ou habile que cela, l'on devrait enfin comprendre que le "petit" ne peut qu'être l' "assujetti" du Droit de la Compliance, puisquil faudrait être puissant de facto pour en être sa source normative et son agent d'exécution. C'est alors vers ce Department of Justice (DoJ), ce mal-nommé, que les regards craintifs, haineux et résignés se tournent. Ainsi le Droit, qui a pour définition la défense du faible, serait devenu l'arme cynique du fort. La Compliance serait ainsi non plus seulement la négation du Droit : elle serait comme la honte du Droit.

Si l'on perçoit les choses ainsi, que faudrait-il faire ? La réponse est évidente : réagir !

Il faudrait sauver la Sauveraineté, la France, les entreprise, le Droit lui-même. Si c'est bien ainsi que la question se pose en amont, comment ne pas être d'accord en aval ? Il faudrait donc détruire le Droit de la Compliance et l'extraterritorialité du Droit américain qui aurait trouvé ce "cheval de Troie", expression si fréquemment utilisée. C'est la base des rapports administratifs disponibles, par exemple du rapport parlementaire "Berger-Lellouche"!footnote-1719 et du "Rapport Gauvain"!footnote-1720. L'un et l'autre développent largement les deux affirmations précédentes, à savoir que l'extraterrioralité des mécanismes de compliance est illégitime et nuisible, puisqu'il s'agirait d'un mécanisme inventé par les Américains et faisant du tort aux Européens, voire inventé par les Américains pour faire du tort aux Européens, la description étant faite dans des termes beaucoup plus violents que ceux ici utilisés.  La description semblant acquise, les réflexions portent donc sur les remèdes, toujours conçus pour "bloquer" le Droit de la Compliance dans son effet extraterritorial.

Mais sans discuter sur l'efficacité des remèdes proposés en aval, il convient plutôt de revenir sur cette description faite en amont et si largement partagée. Car beaucoup d'éléments conduisent au contraire à affirmer que le Droit de la Compliance tout d'abord et par nature ne peut qu'être extraterritoire et qu'il doit l'être. Cela est justifié, que l'Etat dans lequel ses différents outils ont été élaborés soit ou non animé d'intentions malicieuses. La description qui nous est usuellement faite s'appuie le plus souvent sur des cas particuliers, dont l'on tire des généralités, mais l'on ne peut réduire le Droit de la Compliance au cas, déjà refroidi, BNPP, ou au cas toujours brûlant de l'embargo américain sur l'Iran. Plus encore, l'on ne peut prendre la question des embargos et en tirer des conclusions, légitimes pour elle, mais qui devraient valoir pour l'ensemble du Droit de la Compliance. Le fait que le Droit de la Compliance soit une branche du Droit au stade encore de l'émergence peut conduire à cette confusion qui consiste à prendre la partie pour le tout, mais c'est très regrettable car une critique  justifieé pour les embargos ne l'est en rien pour tout le Droit de la Compliance, dont précisément le Droit des embargos n'est qu'une petite partie, voire un usage abusif. Cet emboîtement n'est pas souvent perçu, parce que la définition du Droit de la Compliance et son critère ne sont assez nettement cernés, à savoir l'existence d'un "but monumental"!footnote-1725, lequel précisément n'existe pas dans un embargo décidé unilatéralement par un ordre décrété par le président des Etats-Unis, mais qui existe dans tous les autres cas. Ce "but monumental" justifie pleinement une extraterritorialité, extraterritorialité qui est même consubstantielle au Droit de la Compliance (I).

Une fois que l'on a distingué les embargos, comme partie atypique, voire parfois illégitime, du Droit de la Compliance, il convient de poursuivre ce travail de distinction en soulignant que les Etats-Unis ont certes inventé le Droit de la Compliance!footnote-1721 mais en n'ont développé qu'une conception mécanique de prévention et de gestion des risques systèmiques. L'Europe a repris cette conception systèmique de protection des systèmes, par exemple financier ou bancaire, mais y a superposé une autre conception, puisant dans sa profonde tradition humaniste!footnote-1722, dont la protection des données à caractère personnel n'est qu'un exemple et dont le but monumental est plus largement la protection de l'être humain. Les crises sanitaires lui donne une illustration particulière. Ce souci premier justifie alors l'usage européen des mécanismes de Compliance pour interférer sur des objets globaux dans l'indifférence de leur localisation, parce que le but monumental le requiert, impliqué par l'objet, comme l'environnement ou la santé publique. Cela non seulement efface les frontières mais cela justifie que s'en élèvent d'autres. Ainsi le Droit de la Compliance étant d'une autre nature que le Droit de la Concurrence, il justifie des barrières légitimes aux objets, des contrôles sur les personnes, les biens et les capitaux (II).

En effet, cette branche du Droit nouvelle qu'est le Droit de la Compliance n'est pas réductible au Droit de la Concurrence!footnote-1723, pas plus qu'elle n'est pas réductible à une méthode. C'est un Droit substantiel, extraterritorial parce que les "buts monumentaux" qui lui donnent substantiellement son unité sont eux-mêmes extraterritoriaux. Cela peut contribuer directement à l'avenir d'une Europe exemplaire, qui d'une part pourra poursuite d'une façon extraterritoriale des buts monumentaux humanistes, en matière d'environnement ou de protection des informations personnelles ou de protection de la santé ou d'accès au Droit (notamment par la technique des programmes de compliance) et qui d'autre part, par les techniques de tracabilité des produits !footnote-1724, aura les moyens de ne faire entrer des produits fabriqués d'une façon indécente ou dangereuse, sauf aux pays qui n'accordent de valeur qu'au Droit de la concurrence à saisir l'OMC. 

 

Lire ci-dessous les développements. 

 

 

Mise à jour : 25 octobre 2017 (Rédaction initiale : 27 mai 2016 )

Publications

Ce working paper a dans un premier temps servi de base à un rapport de synthèse proposé dans le colloque organisé par l'Association Henri Capitant, dans les Journées internationale Allemandes sur La Mondialisation.

Il sert dans un second temps de base à l'article paru dans l'ouvrage La Mondialisation.

Dans sa version anglaise, il sert de base à l'article écrit en anglais (avec un résumé en espagnol) à paraître au Brésil dans la Rarb - Revista de Arbitragem e Mediação  (Revue d`Arbitrage et Médiation).

 

Dans ce Working Paper, sont insérées des notes, comprenant des développements, des références et des liens vers des travaux et réflexions menés sur le thème de la mondialisation. 

Il utilise par insertion le Dictionnaire bilingue du Droit de la Régulation et de la Compliance.

Pour accéder à la version anglaise du working paper, cliquer sur le drapeau britannique.

____

 

La mondialisation est un phénomène déroutant pour le juriste. La première chose à faire est d'en prendre la mesure. Une fois celle-ci prise, il est essentiel que l'on s'autorise à en penser quelque chose, voire que l'on s'impose d'en penser quelque chose. Par exemple sur le caractère nouveau ou non du phénomène, ce qui permet dans un second temps de porter une appréciation sur ce qui est en train de se mettre en place. Si en tant que le Droit peut et doit "prétendre" défendre chaque être humain, prétention universelle ayant vocation à faire face au champ mondial des forces, la question suivante - mais secondaire - se formule alors : quid facere ? Rien ? Moins que rien ? ou bien réguler ? Ou bien prétendre encore que le Droit remplisse son office premier qui est de protéger la personne faible, y compris dans le jeu de forces qu'est la mondialisation ?

Commençons les périphéries du Droit dans la mondialisation.