Sept. 9, 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Full reference: Frison-Roche, M.-A., Freedom&Media: when Italian Media Regulation's real "goal"​ is not Pluralism Protection, Freedom of Establishment prevails (CJEU, 3 Sept.2020,Vivendi)Newsletter MAFR - Law, Regulation, Compliance, 9th of September 2020

Read by freely subscribing other news of the Newsletter MAFR - Law, Regulation, Compliance

 

Summary of the news

The media sector is organized on an equilibrium between the principle of competition and other concerns like information pluralism. Generally, competition Law by making market accessible to many competitors ensures information pluralism. But, this is not the case if an operator get an excessive market power, running risk not only for competition but also for information pluralism. It is the reason why the Italian legal system forbids the constitution of an operator gathering more than 40% of the total income generated by the media sector or more than 10% of the total income generated by the Italian communication sector. 

In 2016, Vivendi, a French media group, got more than 28% of the Mediaset Group's actions and around 30% of its voting right. The Italian communication regulation authority sized by Mediaset demands in 2017 to Vivendi to ends its participations in the group Mediaset. Vivendi contested this decision before the regional administrative court which referred to the Court of Justice of the European Union in order to know if freedom of establishment can legitimately be discarded in favor of information pluralism in this concrete case. The Court of Justice answered, in a decision of 3rd of September 2020, that the restriction of the freedom of establishment can in principle be justified by a general interest objective such as information pluralism protection but that in this concrete case, this is not justified because the fact that a firm is committed in the transmission of contents does not necessarily give it the power to control the production of such contents.

We can learn three lessons form this case:

  1. The Court precises that even if the principle is the freedom of establishment, it is possible to discard it to protect information pluralism protection under the condition that the concerned member State do not use this legitimate power to create a political monopoly, the burden of proof falling on the person attacking national legislation and not on the Member State.
  2. The Court distinguishes transmission of contents and production of contents and explains that if the State rejects this decision, the burden falling to it to prove the concrete links between these two activities.
  3. This case shows that the power to share the respective places of the "principle" and of the "exception" always comes back to the judges. 

Aug. 19, 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Full reference: Frison-Roche, M.-A., Regulators'​ Impartiality and contents control: "Les infidèles"​ caseNewsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 19th of August 2020

Read by freely subscribing the other news of the Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

To go further, read the chapter of the book Compliance Tools: "The geographical pregnancy ​of Compliance tools" opened by an introductive chapter written by Jean-Baptiste Racine

 

Summary of the news

Impartiality of the regulator is one of the most important principles of Regulation and Compliance Law. However, this impartiality can be difficult to implement when the regulation object has a strong moral dimension. 

In August 2020, various religious associations sized the Conseil National de Régulation de l'Audiovisuel sénégalais (Senegalese audiovisual regulatory authority) to ask the interdiction of broadcasting on television of the film "Les infidèles" telling the story of a married woman with multiple lovers. 

First, the regulator distinguishes the sequences likely to be detrimental to cultural and religious identities and shocking sequences or likely to attack the dignity of the person. Then, it asks the deletion of indecent and obscene scenes and of scenes likely to be detrimental to cultural and religious identities, bans the broadcasting of the film in the television before 10.30 pm, asks an update of the trailer and requires the introduction of a pictogram "forbidden to children under 16" during the broadcasting. The CNRA judges itself able to regulate the content of telefilms in order to protect cultural identities with regards to the law of 4th of January setting its mission. 

In 2012, a similar controversy surrounded, in France, the broadcasting of a different film with the same name. However, the purpose and the context were very different because the film was broadcasted at cinema, because it presented adultery men, because it was comic, because the competent regulator was not an administrative body but a professional body and because the broadcasting country was not the same. Here, only the poster was modified. 

Thus, an impartial regulation must however taking into consideration "local cultural identities".  

July 28, 1989

Thesaurus : 01. Conseil constitutionnel

Full reference: Conseil constitutionnel (French Constitutionnel Court), 26th of July 1989, Loi modifiant la loi n° 86-1067 du 30 septembre 1986 relative à la liberté de communication (law modifying the law of 1986 about freedom of communication), Decision n°89-259 DC 

Read the decision (in French)

9 septembre 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Référence complète: Frison-Roche, M.-A., Liberté & médias: quand le "but" réel de la régulation italienne des médias n'est pas la protection du pluralisme, la liberté d'établissement prévaut (CJUE, 3 Sept.2020,Vivendi) (Freedom&Media: when Italian Media Regulation's real "goal"​ is not Pluralism Protection, Freedom of Establishment prevails (CJEU, 3 Sept.2020,Vivendi)), Newsletter MAFR - Law, Regulation, Compliance, 9 septembre 2020

Lire par abonnement gratuit les autres news de la Newsletter MAFR - Law, Regulation, Compliance

 

Résumé de la news

Le secteur des médias est organisé autour d'un équilibre entre le principe de concurrence et d'autres soucis dont fait partie le pluralisme de l'information. Normalement, la loi de la concurrence en rendant accessible le marché à de nombreux concurrents assure le pluralisme de l'information. Mais, tel n'est pas le cas si un opérateur acquiert un pouvoir de marché excessif, faisant courir un risque non seulement pour la concurrence mais aussi pour le pluralisme de l'information. C'est la raison pour laquelle le système juridique italien interdit la constitution d'un opérateur regroupant plus de 40% des revenus totaux générés par le secteur des médias ou plus de 10% des revenus totaux générés par le secteur de la communication italien. 

En 2016, le groupe de médias français Vivendi a acquis plus de 28% des actions du groupe Mediaset et près de 30% de son droit de vote. L'autorité italienne de régulation des communication, saisie par Mediaset a exhorté en 2017 Vivendi à mettre un terme à ses participations au groupe Mediaset. Vivendi a contesté cette décision devant le tribunal administratif régional qui lui-même s'est référé par voie de question préjudicielle à la Cour de Justice de l'Union européenne afin de savoir si la liberté d'établissement pouvait légitimement être écartée au profit du pluralisme de l'information dans ce cas concret. La Cour de justice a répondu, dans un arrêt du 3 septembre 2020, que la restriction de la liberté d'établissement peut en principe être justifiée par un objectif d'intérêt général tel que la protection du pluralisme de l'information mais que dans ce cas concret, cell-ci n'est pas justifiée puisque le fait qu'une entreprise s'engage dans la transmission de contenus ne lui confère pas nécessairement le pouvoir de contrôler la production desdits contenus. 

On peut tirer trois leçons de ce cas: 

  1. La Cour précise que bien que le principe est la liberté d'établissement, il est possible que celui-ci soit écarté pour protéger le pluralisme de l'information à condition que l'Etat membre en question ne se serve pas de ce pouvoir légitime pour constituer un monopole politique, la charge de preuve incombant à celui qui attaque la législation nationale et non à l'Etat membre. 
  2. La Cour distingue transmission de contenu et production de contenu et explique que si l'Etat membre rejette cette distinction, la charge lui incombe de démontrer les liens concrets entre ces deux activités.
  3. Ce cas montre que le pouvoir de répartir les places respectives du "principe" et de "l'exception" revient toujours aux juges

19 août 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Référence complète: Frison-Roche, M.-A., L'impartialité des régulateurs et le contrôle des contenus: le cas des "Infidèles" (Regulators'​ Impartiality and contents control: "Les infidèles"​ case), Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 19 août 2020

Lire par abonnement gratuit les autres news de la Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Pour aller plus loin, lire le chapitre de l'ouvrage Les outils de la Compliance: "La prégnance géographique des outils de la Compliance" ouvert par un chapitre introductif de Jean-Baptiste Racine

 

Résumé de la news

L'impartialité du régulateur est un des principes les plus importants du Droit de la Régulation et de la Compliance. Cependant, cette impartialité peut s'avérer difficile à mettre en oeuvre lorsque l'objet de régulation comporte une forte dimension morale.

En août 2020, diverses associations religieuses ont saisi le Conseil National de Régulation de l'Audiovisuel sénégalais (CNRA) pour demander l'interdiction de la diffusion à la télévision du film "Les infidèles" narrant l'histoire d'une femme mariée aux multiples amants. 

Tout d'abord, le régulateur distingue les séquences pouvant nuire aux identités culturelles et religieuses des séquences choquantes ou pouvant porter atteinte à la dignité de la personne. Ensuite, il demande la suppression des scènes jugées indécentes et obscènes ainsi que les scènes susceptibles de nuire aux différentes identités culturelles et religieuses, interdit la diffusion du film à la télévision avant 22h30, demande la modification de la bande-annonce et enfin requiert l'insertion d'un pictogramme portant l'inscription "interdit au moins de 16 ans" lors de la diffusion. Le CNRA se juge compétent pour réguler le contenu des téléfilms de manière à préserver les identités culturelles au regard de la loi du 4 janvier 2006 fixant sa mission. 

En 2012, une polémique similaire avait entouré, en France, la diffusion d'un film différent mais du même nom. Cependant, l'objet et le contexte étaient très différents puisque le film était diffusé au cinéma et non à la télévision, qu'il présentait des hommes infidèles et non des femmes infidèles, qu'il avait une vocation humoristique et non sociologique, que le régulateur compétent n'était pas un organe administratif mais un organe professionnel et que le pays de diffusion n'était pas le même. Ici, seule l'affiche avait due être modifiée.

Ainsi, une régulation impartiale doit cependant prendre en compte les "identités culturelles locales". 

28 juillet 1989

Base Documentaire : 01. Conseil constitutionnel

Référence complète: Conseil constitutionnel, 26 juillet 1989, Loi modifiant la loi n° 86-1067 du 30 septembre 1986 relative à la liberté de communication, Décision n°89-259 DC 

Lire la décision