Sept. 16, 2020

Publications

♾️ follow Marie-Anne Frison-Roche on LinkedIn

♾️subscribe to the Newsletter MAFR Regulation, Compliance, Law 

____

Full reference: M.-A. Frison-Roche, Se tenir bien dans l'espace numérique, in Penser le droit de la pensée. Mélanges en l'honneur de Michel Vivant, Lexis Nexis and Dalloz, 2020, pp. 155-168.

____

📝Read the article (in French)

____

🚧Read the working paper, written in English, on which this article is based, with additional developments, technical references, and hyperlinks

 

English summary of the article: The digital space is one of the scarce spaces not framed by a specific branch of Law, Freedom also offering opportunity to its actors to not "behave well", that is to express and diffuse broadly and immediately hateful thoughts through Hate speechs, which remained before in private or limited circles. The intimacy of Law and of the legal notion of Person is broken: Digital permits to individuals or organizations to act as demultiplied and anonymous characters, digital depersonalized actors who carry behaviors that are hurtful to other's dignity. 

Against that, Compliance Law offers an appropriate solution: internalizing in digital crucial operators the mission to disciplinary and substantially hold the digital space. The digital space has been structured by powerful firms able to maintain order. Because Law must not reduce digital space to be only a neutral market of digital prestations, these crucial operators, like social networks or search engines, must be forced to substantially control behaviors. It could be about an obligation of internet users to act with their face uncover, "real identity" policy controlled by firms, and to respect others' rights, privacy rights, dignity, intellectual property rights. In their Regulatory function, digital crucial firms must be supervised by public authorities. 

Thus, Compliance law substantially defined is the protector of the person as "subject of law" in the digital space, by the respect that others must have, this space passing from the status of free space to the one of civilized space, in which everyone is obliged to behave well. 

______

 

Read to go further: 

Dec. 19, 2019

Publications

Complète Reference : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Théorie juridique de la cartographie des risques, centre du Droit de la Compliance (Legal Theory of Risk Mapping, center of Compliance Law), D.2019, chronique Compliance, p. 

 

Summary : The act of mapping risks is not currently defined by Law. It is only described in special laws. While risks mapping is central to preventing in Ex Ante the occurrence of crises or behaviors from which the occurrence is excluded, no legal regime is available, due to the lack of a legal definition available. This legal definition is proposed here in 5 stages, starting from special laws and specific cases to go towards a general conception. Risk mapping then appears as a concern for others taken care of willingly or by force by crucial operators, through a new subjective right: the “right to be alarmed”, the map being the structural counterpart of the character of the whistleblower. Two articulated systems of Compliance Law.

 

Read the article, published in French.

 

Read its translation in English. 

 

Read the English Working Paper  on which this article is based, working paper with additional developpments, technical references and hypertext links

 

_______________

16 septembre 2020

Publications

► Référence complète : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Se tenir bien dans l'espace numérique, in "Penser le droit de la pensée". Mélanges en l'honneur de Michel Vivant, Dalloz et Lexis Nexis, 2020, pp. 155-168.

____

📝Lire l'article

____

🚧Lire le document de travail sur lequel cet article est basé, enrichi de développements supplémentaires, de références techniques et de liens hypertextes

 

► Résumé de l'article : L'espace numérique est un des rares espaces non spécifiquement cadrés par le Droit, liberté qui a aussi pour grave conséquence d'offrir l'opportunité à ses acteurs de ne pas "se tenir bien", c'est-à-dire d'exprimer et de diffuser largement et immédiatement des pensées haineuses, lesquels demeuraient auparavant dans des cercles privés ou restreints. L'intimité du Droit et de la notion juridique de Personne en est atteinte : le numérique permet à des individus ou des organisations d'agir comme des personnages démultipliés et anonymes, acteurs numériques dépersonnalisés porteurs de comportements attentatoires à la dignité d'autrui.

Contre cela, le Droit de la Compliance offre une solution adéquate : internaliser dans les opérateurs numériques cruciaux la charge de tenir disciplinairement substantiellement l'espace numérique. L'espace numérique a été structuré par des entreprises puissantes à même d'y maintenir l'ordre. Parce que le Droit ne doit pas réduire l'espace digital à n'être qu'un simple marché neutre de prestations numériques, ces opérateurs cruciaux, comme les réseaux sociaux ou les moteurs de recherches doit être obligés de contrôler substantiellement les comportements. Il peut s'agir d'une obligation des internautes d'agir à visage découvert, politique de "l'identité réelle" contrôlée par les entreprises, et de respecter les droits d'autrui, droits intimes, dignité, droits de propriété intellectuelle. Dans leur fonction de régulation, les entreprises digitales cruciales doivent être supervisées par des Autorités publiques

Ainsi le Droit de la Compliance substantiellement défini est gardien de la personne comme "sujet de droit" dans l'espace digital, par le respect que les autres doivent en avoir, cet espace passant du statut d'espace libre à celui d'espace civilisé, dans lequel chacun est contraint de se tenir bien. 

______

 

► Consulter pour aller plus loin : 

________

19 décembre 2019

Publications : Chroniques MAFR Droit de la Compliance

► Référence complète : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Théorie juridique de la cartographie des risques, centre du Droit de la Compliance, D.2019, chronique Compliance, p. 2432-2434.

____

► Résumé de l'article : L’action de cartographier les risques n’est pas pour l’instant définie par le Droit. Elle n’est que décrite à l’occasion de lois spéciales. Alors qu’elle est centrale pour prévenir en Ex Ante la survenance des crises ou de comportements dont on exclut la survenance, aucun régime juridique n’est disponible, faute d’une définition juridique opérée. Cette définition est ici proposée en 5 étapes, partant des lois spéciales et des cas particuliers pour aller vers une conception générale. La cartographie des risques apparaît alors comme un souci d’autrui pris en charge de gré ou de force par des opérateurs cruciaux, à travers un nouveau droit subjectif : le « droit d’être alarmé », la carte être le pendant structurel du personnage du lanceur d’alerte. Deux dispositifs du Droit de la Compliance.

____

📝Lire l'article. 

Lire la traduction en anglais de cet article.

____

Lire le document de travail sur lequel s'appuie cet article, document de travail doté de développements supplémentaires, de références techniques et de liens hypertextes

____

Lire les autres chroniques parues chez Dalloz dans la rubrique Chronique MAFR Droit de la Compliance

________

 

_______________