Oct. 27, 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Full reference: Frison-Roche, M.-A., From Competition Law to Compliance Law: example of French Competition Authority decision on central purchasing body in Mass DistributionNewsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 27th of October 2020

Read by freely subscribing the other news of the Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance

 

 

_____

 

Summary of the news: Through its decision of 22nd of October 2020, the Autorité de la concurrence (French Competition Authority) accepted the commitments proposed by retail sector's firms Casino, Auchan, Metro and Schiever so that their agreement by which a common body centralizes purchases from numerous retailers, allowing each to offer these products under private label, is admissible with regard to competitive requirements. 

In this particular case, the Authority had self-sized in July 2018, estimating that such a purchase center could harm competition, opening immediately a large consultation on the terms of the contract. In October 2018, the law Egalim permitted to the Authority to take temporary measures to suspend such a contract, what the Authority did from September. 

The convention parties' firms committed on the one hand to update their contract limiting the power on suppliers, especially small and very small suppliers, excluding totally of the field of the contract some kind of products, especially food products and reducing the share of bought products volume dedicated to their transformation in distributor brand. 

The Autorité de la concurrence accepts this proposal of commitments, congratulates itself of the protection of small suppliers operating like that and observe the similarity with the contract consisting in a purchase center between Carrefour and Tesco, which will be examined soon. 

_____

 

We can draw three lessons of this innovating decision, which could be a model for after: 

1. The technique of Compliance Law permits to the Autorité de la concurrence to find a reasonable solution for the future. 

  • Indeed, rather than punishing much later by a simple fine or to annihilate the performing mechanism of the purchase center, the Authority obtains contract modifications. 
  • The contract is structured and the obtained modifications are also structural. 
  • The commitments are an Ex Ante technique, imposed to operators, for the future, in an equilibrium between competition, operators and consumers protection and the efficacy of the coordination between powerful operators. 
  • The nomination of a monitor permits to build the future of the sector, thanks to the Ex Ante nature of Compliance Law. 

2. The retail sector finally regulated by Compliance technics.

  • "Distribution law" always struggle to find its place, between Competition law and Contract Law, especially because we cannot consider it as a common "sector". 
  • The Conseil constitutionnel (French constitutional court) refused a structural injunction power to the authority because it was contrary to business freedom and without any doubt ethics of business is not sufficient to the equilibrium of the sector.
  • Through commitments given against a stop of pursuits relying on structuring contracts, it is by Compliance law that a Regulation law free of the condition of existence of a sector could leave.

3. The political nature of Compliance law in the retail sector

  • As for digital space, which is not a sector, Compliance law can directly impose to actors imperatives that are strangers to them. 
  • In the digital space, the care for fighting against Hate and for protecting private life; here the care for small and very small suppliers. 

 

___________

 

See in counterpoints the pursuit of a contentious procedure against Sony, whose the proposals of commitments, made after a public consultation, were not found satisfying.

To go further, on the question of Compliance law permitting through indirect way the rewriting by the Conseil of a structuring contract (linking a platform created by the State to centralize health data with an American firm subsidy to manage them).

27 octobre 2020

Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

Référence complète: Frison-Roche, M.-A., Du Droit de la Concurrence au Droit de la Compliance : exemple de la décision de l'Autorité de la concurrence à propos de la centrale d'achat entre grands distributeurs (From Competition Law to Compliance Law: example of French Competition Authority decision on central purchasing body in Mass Distribution), Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation, 27 octobre 2020

 

Lire par abonnement gratuit d'autres news de la Newsletter MAFR - Law, Compliance, Regulation

 

_____

 

Résumé de la news : Par sa décision du 22 octobre 2020, l'Autorité de la concurrence a accepté les engagements proposés par les entreprises de grande distribution Casino, Auchan, Metro et Schiever pour que soit admissible au regard des impératifs concurrentiels leur convention par laquelle un organe commun centralise des achats auprès de nombreux détaillants, permettant à chacun de proposer ces produits sous marque de distributeur. 

Dans ce cas précis, l'Autorité s'était auto-saisie en juillet 2018, estimant qu'une telle centrale d'achat pouvait endommager la concurrence, ouvrant immédiatement une large consultation sur les termes du contrat. En octobre 2018, la loi Egalim a permis à l'Autorité de prendre des mesures provisoires pour suspendre un tel contrat, ce que fit l'Autorité dès septembre. 

Les entreprises parties à la convention se sont engagées d'une part à modifier leur contrat en limitant l'emprise sur les fournisseurs, notamment les petits et les très petits, en excluant totalement du champ contractants certains types de produits, notamment alimentaires et en réduisant le pourcentage des volumes de produits achetés destinés à leur transformation en marque de distributeur. 

L'Autorité de la concurrence accepte cette proposition d'engagements, se félicite de la protection ainsi opérée des petits fournisseurs et note la similitude avec le contrat consistant une centrale d'achat entre Carrefour et Tesco, bientôt examiné. 

_____

 

L'on peut tirer trois leçons de cette décision innovante, qui pourra servir de modèle par la suite :

1. La technique du Droit de la Compliance permet à l'Autorité de concurrence de trouver une solution mesurée pour l'avenir.

  • En effet, plutôt de sanctionner beaucoup plus tard par une simple amende ou d'anéantir le mécanisme performant de la centrale d'achat, l'Autorité obtient des modifications du contrat.
  • Le contrat est structurel et les modifications obtenues sont elles aussi structurelles.
  • Les engagements sont une techniques Ex Ante, imposées aux opérateurs, pour l'avenir, dans un équilibre entre la concurrence, la protection des opérateurs, des consommateurs et l'efficacité de la coordination entre opérateurs puissants. 
  • La nomination d'un moniteur permet de construire l'avenir de la filière, grâce à la nature Ex Ante du Droit de la Compliance.

 

2. La "grande distribution" enfin régulée par les techniques de Compliance.

  • Le "Droit de la distribution" a toujours eu du mal à trouver sa place, entre le Droit de la concurrence et le Droit des contrats, notamment parce qu'on ne peut la considérer comme un "secteur". 
  • Le Conseil constitutionnel avait annulé un pouvoir d' "injonction structurelle" conféré à l'Autorité, car contraire à la liberté d'entreprendre et sans doute l'éthique des affaires ne suffit pas à l'équilibre de la filière.
  • Par des engagements donnés en contrepartie d'un arrêt des poursuites appuyées sur des contrats structurants, c'est par le Droit de la Compliance que peut sortir enfin un Droit de la Régulation délivré de la condition de l'existence d'un secteur. 

 

3. La nature politique du Droit de la Compliance dans la "Grande Distribution".

  • Comme pour l'espace digital, qui n'est pas un sector, le Droit de la Compliance peut directement imposer aux acteurs des impératifs qui leur sont étrangers.
  • Dans l'espace digital, le souci de la lutte contre la Haine et la protection de la vie privée ; ici le souci des petits et très petits fournisseurs. 

 

___________

 

 

Voir en contrepoint la poursuite d'une procédure contentieuse contre Sony, dont les propositions d'engagements, faites après consultation publique, n'ont pas été jugées "satisfaisantes".

Pour aller plus loin, sur la question du Droit de la Compliance permettant par voie indirecte la réécriture par le Conseil d'un contrat structurant (liant une plateforme créée par l'Etat pour centraliser des données de santé avec une filiale d'entreprise américaine pour gérer celles-ci).