Updated: July 4, 2019 (Initial publication: April 30, 2019)

Publications

Complete reference : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Have a good behavior in the digital space, working paper2019.

This working document serves as a basis for a contribution to the collective book dedicated to Professor Michel Vivant, article written en French.

 

The jurist sees the world through the way he learns to speak!footnote-1536, legal vocabulary build by Law itself, whether in common law or in civil law. Thus, we think we are dealing with the human being who does not move, taken by the legal notion expressed by the term "person", their body and their biological development in time, from the baby to the dying, holding entirely in this hollow of that word "person", while the behavior of the human being with regard to the world, others and things, are grouped in other branches of Law: the Contract and Tort Law and the Property Law, which are only what people do with and about things.

The Law of the Environment has already come to blur this distinction, so finally so strange because this classical conception refers to a person taken firstly in his immobility (Law of individuals), and then in his only actions (Contrats and Tort Law, Property Law). Indeed, the very notion of "environment" implies that the person is not isolated, that he/she is "surrounded", that he/she is what he/she is and will become because of what surrounds him/her ; in return the world is permanently affected by his/her personal action. On second thought, when once "Law of Individuals" was not distinguished from Family Law, the human being was more fully restored by this division in the legal system that not only followed him/her from birth to death but also in him/her most valuable interactions: parents, siblings, couples, children. Thus Family Law was finer and more faithful to what is the life of a human being.

To have instituted Law of Individuals, it is thus to have promoted of the human being a vision certainly more concrete, because it is above all of their identity and their body about what Law speaks, astonishing that the we have not noticed before that women are not men like the othersTo have instituted the Law of the people, it is thus to have promoted of the human being a vision certainly more concrete, because it is above all of his identity and his body that one speaks to us, astonishing that the we have not noticed before that women are not men like the others!footnote-1537 without however remembering that abstraction is sometimes the best of protections!footnote-1538.  But it is also to have isolated human beings, split from what they do, what they touch, what they say to others. It is by taking legally a static perception of a "man without relationship". We have gone from the legal individualism of the Law of the sole man.

From this concrete vision, we have all the benefits but Law, much more than in the eighteenth century, perceives the human being as an isolated subject, whose corporeality ceases to be veiled by Law!footnote-1570, but for whom the relation to others or to things does not define him or her. Which brings the human being a lot closer to things. An human being who is a legal subject who does what they wants, as they can, limited by the force of things. But in fact things are so powerful and the human being, in fact, so weak. For example, the marks people leave are erased by time. Their grip on the world stops at the extent of their knowledge, the time and money they have, building to use better their own time and to reach projects that they designed, In this conception, Person and Liberty are one, returning the subject to their solitude.

This freedom will come into conflict with the need for order, expressed by society, social contract, state, law, which imposes limits on freedom of one to preserve freedom of the other, as recalled by the French Déclaration des Droits de l'Homme  of 1789. Thus, it is not possible de jure to transform every desire in action,, even though the means would be within reach of the person in question, because certain behaviors are prohibited in that they would cause too much disorder and if they are nevertheless committed, they are punished for order to return. Thus, what could be called "law of behavior", obligations to do and not to be put in criminal, civil and administrative Law, national and international Law, substantial Law and procedural Law :they will protect the human being in movment pushed by the principle of freedom forward others and thing, movement inherent in their status as a Person. 

The human being is therefore limited in what they wants to do. In the first place by the fact: their exhausting forces, their death that will come, the time counted, the money that is lacking, the knowledge that they does not even know not to hold, all that is to say by their very humanity; Secondly, by the Law which forbids so many actions ...: not to kill, not to steal, not to take the spouse of others, not to pass as true what is false, etc. For the human being on the move, full of life and projects, Law has always had a side "rabat-joy". It is for that reason often ridiculed and criticized because of all its restraining regulations, even hated or feared in that it would prevent to live according to our desire, which is always my "good pleasure", good since it is mine. Isolated and all-powerful, the human being alone not wanting to consider other than his desire alone.

Psychoanalysis, however, has shown that Law, in that it sets limits, assigns to the human being a place and a way of being held with respect to things and other persons. If one no longer stands themselves by the prohibition of the satisfaction of all desire (the first of which is the death of the other), social life is no longer possible!footnote-1571. Thank to the Law, everyone follows the same Rule at the table, from which a discussion can take place between guests and without which it can not!footnote-1539. You stand straight in your chair, you do not eat with your fingers, you do not speak with your mouth full, you do not interrupt the speaker. Admittedly, one often learns at the beginning of the learning of the Law that one should not confuse "politeness" and Law. That these rules are politeness and that this is not Law ...

But this presentation aims to make it possible to admit that the criterion of Law would be in the effectiveness of a sanction by the public power: the fine, the prison, the confiscation of a good, which the rudeness does not trigger whereas Law would imply it: by this way we are thus persuaded of the intimacy between the public power (the State) and Law... But later, after this first lesson learned, the doubt comes from the consubstansuality between Law and State. Is it not rather appropriate to consider that Law is what must lead everyone to "behave well" with regard to things and people around them? The question of punishment is important, but it is second, it is not the very definition of Law. The French author Carbonnier pointed out that the gendarme's "kepi" is the "Law sign", that is to say what it is recognized without hesitation, but it is not its definition.

The first issue dealt with by Law is then not so much the freedom of the person as the presence of others. How to use one's freedom and the associated deployment of forces in the presence of others? How could I not use it when I would like to harm them, or if the nuisance created for them by the use of my free strength is indifferent to me!footnote-1540 How can Law lead me to use my means for their benefit while our interests do not converge? 

We do not use our force against others because we have interest or desire, we do not give him the support of our strength while he indifferent us, because Law holds us. If the superego was not enough. If Law and the "parental function of the States" did not make alliance. We do it because we hold ourselves

Or rather we were holding ourselves.

Because today a new world has appeared: the digital world that allows everyone not to "hold" himself, that is to say to constantly abuse others, never to take them into consideration, to attack massively. It's a new experience. It is not a pathological phenomenon, as is delinquency (which simply leads to punishment), nor a structural failure in a principle otherwise admitted (which leads to regulatory remedies) but rather a new use, which would be a new rule: in the digital space, one can do anything to everyone, one is not held by anything or anyone, one can "let go" (I). This lack of "good behavior" is incompatible with the idea of ​​Law, in that Law is made for human beings and protect those who can not afford to protect themselves; that is why this general situation must be remedied  (II).

1

Cornu, G., Linguistique juridique, 2005. 

2

Frison-Roche, M.-A. & Sève, R., Le Droit au féminin (ed.), 2003.

3

Under this "mask" of the "subject of Law", we are all equal. S. Archives de Philosophie du Droit, Le sujet de droit, 1989.

4

Baud, J.P., L'affaire de la main volée. Histoire juridique du corps humain, 1993. 

5

On neurosis as a constitutive mode of child sociability, s. Lebovici, S., "C'est pas juste", in La justice. L'obligation impossible, 1994. 

6

Read the article of Alain Supiot about the idée of Rule common of all, under the discussion between all, presented by this author through the artwork of Kafka : "Kafka, artiste de la loi", 2019; Kafka is very present in the work of Alain Supiot, for example in his First Lesson in the Collège de France, 2012, or in an Introduction of La Gouvernance par les nombres ; This latter book is now available in English : Governance by numbers. The making a legal model of allegiance, 2017 (translated by S. Brown). 

7

That's why splitting Persons Law and Family Law masks another reality: the family is not made up of third parties. The links are there. They pre-exist. Starting from the only Persons Law pushes to think one can "build" his/her  family by links drawn on white paper: the contracting of the families made up of individuals becomes thinkable, even natural.

May 28, 2019

Conferences

Référence complète : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Participation à la journée d'étude:  « J’ai toujours été pour tout être » : Guillaume Dustan ou l’infinité des possibles in Laboratoire du Changement Social et Politique, Paris-Diderot, Paris, 28 mai 2019.

 

Consulter le document de travail servant de base à la participation à la journée d'étude

Consulter la présentation générale du programme.

Consulter la présentation du colloque.

 

Jan. 8, 2019

Blog

La collection Droit & Economie sort son 33ième volume. 

Il est consacré à l'Europe, c'est-à-dire à l'amitié franco-allemande, puisqu'aujourd'hui c'est sur cette amitié-là que l'on peut croire encore à l'Europe.

Si l'on a une vision politique des espaces, alors c'est la notion d'amitié qui doit ressortir.

C'est autour d'elle que Bruno Le Maire a construit sa préface : lire la préface que le ministre de l'économie et des finances a fait à l'ouvrage. 

Updated: Oct. 25, 2017 (Initial publication: May 27, 2016)

Publications

This working paper initially served as a basis for a synthesis report made in French in the colloquium organized by the Association Henri Capitant in the International German Days on the subject of "Le Droit et la Mondialisation" (Law and Globalization).

It serves as a second basis for the article (written in English, with a Spanish Summary) to be published in the Brezilian journal Rarb - Revista de Arbitragem e Mediação  (Revue d`Arbitrage et Médiation).

In it French version, it serves as a basis for the article, written in French, to be published in the book La Mondialisation.

In this working paper, notes are included, including developments, references and links to work and reflections on the theme of globalization.
It uses the Bilingual Dictionary of the Law of Regulation and Compliance.

To access the French version of the working paper, click on the French flag.

____

 

Globalization is a confusing phenomenon for the jurist. The first thing to do is to take its measure. Once it has been taken, it is essential that we allow ourselves to think of something about it, even if we have to think about it. For example, on whether the phenomenon is new or not, which allows a second assessment of what is taking place. If, in so far as the law can and must "pretend" to defend every being, a universal claim destined to face the global field of forces, the following question - but secondary - is formulated: quid facere? Nothing ? Next to nothing ? Or regulate? Or can we still claim that the Law fulfills its primary duty, which is to protect the weak, including the forces of globalization?

Let us begin the peripheries of Law in globalization.

____

Globalization is a confusing phenomenon for everyone. It is no doubt even more so for the jurist for whom words are normative acts and which stumbles on the definition of globalization!footnote-927.

Perhaps this is why lawyers are as impressed by the argument of globalization, which is often cited to argue that the time of imperative legislations is over, or that Roman law may well turn into its grave, Globalization would pass over the corpse of the Civil Code. The more mysterious the notion is, the more names it has, the more it sets back the jurist of good tradition, global trade being as upgraded when it is designated as "globalization", the zest of English leading to the globalization that parses Of reports, even written in French or Spanish or Italian. . The global language being English, the Globalization is English also.

If we take up the movement of this wave, it is appropriate first of all to take stock of what is globalization (I). It is only relevant that the usefulness, if not necessity, is posed to think about this movement of globalization. There is a legal imperative to formulate an assessment if it is posited that the Law has the mission of protecting every human being, a concern that is supported by the Law. Then, because Law is also a technique, we can ask ourselves the question of Quid facere? But in practice it can not be said that under the pretext that the field of the world forces is very powerful and that the Law appears to be very weak in its claims to protect every human being in its dignity, it would for this reason disappear from the World stage (II).

On the contrary. It is at the foot of the wall of Globalization that today we can measure the claim of Law to defend humanity.

1

S. for ex. Frison-Roche, M.-A., Les deux mondialisations (The two globalizations), written en French,

Mise à jour : 4 juillet 2019 (Rédaction initiale : 30 avril 2019 )

Publications

Référence complète : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Se tenir bien dans l'espace numérique, document de travail, 2019.

Ce document de travail sert de base à une contribution aux Mélanges en cours d'élaboration en hommage à Michel Vivant.

 

Le juriste voit le monde à travers la façon dont il apprit à parler!footnote-1536, vocabulaire juridique lui-même agencé, que l'on soit en common law ou en civil law, en branche du droit. Ainsi, nous pensons avoir affaire à l'être humain qui ne bouge pas, pris par la notion juridique exprimée par le terme de "personne", son état, son corps et son développement biologique dans le temps, du bébé au mourant, tenant entièrement dans ce creux de ce mot-là "personne", tandis que les comportements de l'être humain à l'égard du monde, des autres et des choses, sont regroupés dans d'autres branches du Droit : le Droit des obligations et le Droit des biens, lequel n'est que ce que les personnes font des choses. 

Le Droit de l'environnement est déjà venu brouiller cette distinction, si habituelle mais à la réflexion si étrange d'une personne prise tout d'abord dans son isolement immobile (droit des personnes), puis ensuite dans ses seules actions (droit des obligation et des biens). En effet, la notion même d' "environnement" pose que la personne n'est pas isolée, qu'elle est "environnée", qu'elle est ce qu'elle est et deviendra en raison de ce qui l'entoure, et qu'en retour le monde est durablement affecté par son action personnelle. A la réflexion, lorsque jadis le "Droit des personnes" ne se distinguait pas du Droit de la famille, l'être humain y était plus pleinement restitué par un découpage du Droit qui non seulement le suivait de la naissance à la mort mais encore dans ses interactions les plus précieuses : les parents, les fratries, le couple, les enfants. Ainsi le Droit de la famille était plus fin et plus fidèle à ce qu'est la vie d'un être humain.

Avoir institué le Droit des personnes, c'est donc avoir promu de l'être humain une vision certes plus concrète, car c'est avant tout de son identité et de son corps que l'on nous parle, s'étonnant que l'on n'a précédemment remarqué que les femmes ne sont pas des hommes comme les autres!footnote-1537 sans pourtant retenir que l'abstraction est parfois la meilleure des protections!footnote-1538 . Mais c'est aussi avoir isolé les êtres humains, scindés de ce qu'il font, de ce qu'ils touchent, de ce qu'ils disent aux autres. C'est en avoir pris juridiquement une perception statique d'un "homme sans relation".  Nous sommes passés de l'individualisme juridique du Droit de l'être seul. 

De cette vision concrète, nous en avons tous les bénéfices mais le Droit, beaucoup plus qu'au XVIIIème siècle, perçoit l'être humain comme un sujet isolé, dont la corporéité cesse d'être voilée par le Droit!footnote-1570, mais pour lequel la relation à autrui ou aux choses ne le définit pas. Ce qui le rapproche beaucoup des choses. Un sujet qui fait ce qu'il veut, comme il peut, limité par la force des choses. Les choses sont si puissantes et l'être humain, de fait, si faible. Par exemple les marques qu'il laisse sont effacées du fait du temps. L'emprise qu'il a sur le monde s'arrête à l'ampleur de son savoir, du temps et de l'argent dont il dispose, des machines qu'il a construites pour mieux utiliser son propre temps et atteindre des projets qu'il a conçus. Dans cette conception, la Personne et la Liberté ne font qu'un, renvoyant le sujet à sa solitude.

Cette liberté va buter sur le besoin d'ordre, exprimé par la société, le contrat social, l'Etat, le Droit, qui impose des limites à la liberté de l'un pour préserver celle de l'autrui, comme le rappelle la Déclaration des droits de 1789. Ainsi, tout désir n'est pas transformable en action, alors même que de fait les moyens seraient à la portée de la personne en cause, parce que certains comportements sont interdits en ce qu'ils causeraient trop de désordre et, s'ils sont néanmoins commis, ils sont sanctionnés pour que l'ordre revienne. Ainsi, ce que l'on pourrait appeler le "droit des comportements", obligations de faire et de ne pas faire logées dans le droit pénal, civil et administratif, droits nationaux et internationaux, droits substantiels et droits procéduraux, vont contraindre l'être humain en mouvement dans l'espace ouvert par le principe de liberté inhérent à son statut de Personne. 

L'être humain est donc limité dans ce qu'il désire faire. En premier lieu par le fait : ses forces qui s'épuisent, sa mort qui viendra, le temps compté, l'argent qui manque, les connaissances qu'il ne sait pas même ne pas détenir, c'est-à-dire par son humanité même; En second lieu par le Droit qui lui interdit tant d'actions.... : ne pas tuer, ne pas voler, ne pas prendre le conjoint d'autrui, ne pas faire passer pour vrai ce qui est faux, etc. Pour l'être humain en mouvement, plein de vie et de projets, le Droit a toujours eu un côté "rabat-joie". Il est pour cela souvent moqué et critiqué en raison de toutes ses réglementations entravantes, voire détesté ou craint en ce qu'il empêcherait de vivre selon son désir, qui est toujours mon "bon plaisir", bon puisque c'est le mien. Isolé et tout-puissant, l'être humain seul ne voulant pas considérer autre que son désir seul. 

La psychanalyse a pourtant montré que le Droit, en ce qu'il pose des limites, assigne à l'être humain une place et une façon de se tenir à l'égard des choses et des autres personnes.  Si l'on ne se tient plus, en s'interdisant la satisfaction de tout désir (le premier de ceux-ci étant la mort de l'autre), la vie social n'est plus possible!footnote-1571. Chacun suit la même loi à table, à l'abri de laquelle une discussion peut s'engager entre convives et sans laquelle elle ne le peut pas!footnote-1539. On se tient droit sur sa chaise, on ne mange pas avec les doigts, on ne parle pas la bouche pleine, on n’interrompt pas celui qui parle. Certes, on apprend souvent en début d'apprentissage du Droit qu'il ne faut pas confondre la "politesse" et le Droit. Que ces règles précitées relèvent de la politesse et que cela n'est pas du Droit...

Mais cette présentation vise à faire admettre que le critère du Droit serait dans l'effectivité d'une sanction par la puissance publique : l'amende, la prison, la saisie d'un bien, ce que l'impolitesse ne déclenche pas alors que le Droit l'impliquerait : nous voilà ainsi  persuadés de l'intimité entre la puissance publique (l’État)  et le Droit. Mais plus tard, après cette première leçon apprise, le doute vient de la consubstantialité entre le Droit et l’État. Ne convient-il pas plutôt estimer que le Droit est ce qui doit conduire chacun à "bien se tenir" à l'égard des choses et des personnes qui l'environnent ? La question de la sanction est importante, mais elle est seconde, elle n'est pas la définition même du Droit. Carbonnier soulignait que le képi du gendarme est le "signe du Droit", c'est-à-dire ce à quoi on le reconnait sans hésiter, ce n'est pas sa définition.

La question première sur laquelle porte le Droit n'est alors pas tant la liberté de la personne que la présence d'autrui. Comment utiliser sa liberté et le déploiement associé de force en présence d'autrui ? Comment ne pas l'utiliser alors qu'on désire lui nuire, ou que la nuisance née pour lui de l'usage de ma force libre m'est indifférente!footnote-1540 ? Comment le Droit peut-il conduire à ce que j'utilise mes moyens à son bénéfice alors que nos intérêts ne convergent pas ? 

Nous n'utilisons pas notre force contre autrui parce qu'on y a intérêt ou le désir, on ne lui apporte pas le soutien de notre force alors qu'il nous indiffère, parce que le Droit nous tient. Si le surmoi n'a pas suffi. Si le Droit et la "fonction parentale des États" n'ont pas fait alliance. On le faisons parce que nous nous "tenons". 

Ou plutôt nous nous tenions.

Car aujourd'hui un monde nouveau est apparu : le monde numérique qui permet à chacun de ne pas "se tenir", c'est-à-dire de maltraiter en permanence autrui, de ne jamais le prendre en considération, de l'agresser massivement. C'est une expérience nouvelle. Il ne s'agit pas d'un phénomène pathologique, comme l'est la délinquance (ce qui amène simplement sanction), ni d'une défaillance structurelle dans un principe par ailleurs admis (ce qui amène régulation) mais plutôt un usage nouveau, qui vaudrait règle nouvelle : dans l'espace digital, on peut faire tout et n'importe quoi, l'on n'est pas tenu par rien ni personne, l'on peut "se lâcher" (I). Cette absence de "tenue" est incompatible avec l'idée de Droit, en ce que celui est fait pour les êtres humains et protéger ceux qui n'ont pas les moyens de se protéger par eux-mêmes ; c'est pourquoi il faut y remédier (II).

1

Cornu, G., Linguistique juridique, 2005. 

2

Frison-Roche, M.-A. et Sève, R., Le Droit au féminin (dir.), 2003.

3

Sous le masque du "sujet de droit", nous sommes tous égaux, v. Archives de Philosophie du Droit, Le sujet de droit, 1989.

4

Baud, J.P., L'affaire de la main volée. Histoire juridique du corps humain, Le Seuil, 1993. 

5

Sur la névrose comme mode constitutif de la sociabilité de l'enfant, v. Lebovici, S., "C'est pas juste", in La justice. L'obligation impossible, 1994. 

6

Lire l'article d'Alain Supiot sur la Loi commune et la discussion, appréhendée à travers l'oeuvre de Kafka : "Kafka, artiste de la loi", 2019; Kafka est très présent dans l'oeuvre d'Alain Supiot, par exemple dans sa leçon inaugurale au Collège de France, 2012. 

7

C'est pourquoi avoir scindé Droit de la personne et Droit de la famille masque encore une autre réalité : la famille n'est pas composée de tiers. Les liens sont là. Ils préexistent. En partant du seul Droit des personnes, l'on peut "construire" sa famille par des liens dessinés sur feuille blanche : la contractualisation des familles composées d'individus devient pensable, voire naturelle.

28 mai 2019

Conférences

Référence complète : Frison-Roche, M.-A., Participation à la journée d'étude:  « J’ai toujours été pour tout être » : Guillaume Dustan ou l’infinité des possibles in Laboratoire du Changement Social et Politique, Paris-Diderot, Paris, 28 mai 2019.

 

Consulter le document de travail servant de base à la participation à la journée d'étude

Consulter la présentation générale du programme.

Consulter la présentation du colloque.

 

8 janvier 2019

Blog

La collection Droit & Economie sort son 33ième volume. 

Il est consacré à l'Europe, c'est-à-dire à l'amitié franco-allemande, puisqu'aujourd'hui c'est sur cette amitié-là que l'on peut croire encore à l'Europe.

Si l'on a une vision politique des espaces, alors c'est la notion d'amitié qui doit ressortir.

C'est autour d'elle que Bruno Le Maire a construit sa préface : lire la préface que le ministre de l'économie et des finances a fait à l'ouvrage. 

Mise à jour : 25 octobre 2017 (Rédaction initiale : 27 mai 2016 )

Publications

Ce working paper a dans un premier temps servi de base à un rapport de synthèse proposé dans le colloque organisé par l'Association Henri Capitant, dans les Journées internationale Allemandes sur La Mondialisation.

Il sert dans un second temps de base à l'article paru dans l'ouvrage La Mondialisation.

Dans sa version anglaise, il sert de base à l'article écrit en anglais (avec un résumé en espagnol) à paraître au Brésil dans la Rarb - Revista de Arbitragem e Mediação  (Revue d`Arbitrage et Médiation).

 

Dans ce Working Paper, sont insérées des notes, comprenant des développements, des références et des liens vers des travaux et réflexions menés sur le thème de la mondialisation. 

Il utilise par insertion le Dictionnaire bilingue du Droit de la Régulation et de la Compliance.

Pour accéder à la version anglaise du working paper, cliquer sur le drapeau britannique.

____

 

La mondialisation est un phénomène déroutant pour le juriste. La première chose à faire est d'en prendre la mesure. Une fois celle-ci prise, il est essentiel que l'on s'autorise à en penser quelque chose, voire que l'on s'impose d'en penser quelque chose. Par exemple sur le caractère nouveau ou non du phénomène, ce qui permet dans un second temps de porter une appréciation sur ce qui est en train de se mettre en place. Si en tant que le Droit peut et doit "prétendre" défendre chaque être humain, prétention universelle ayant vocation à faire face au champ mondial des forces, la question suivante - mais secondaire - se formule alors : quid facere ? Rien ? Moins que rien ? ou bien réguler ? Ou bien prétendre encore que le Droit remplisse son office premier qui est de protéger la personne faible, y compris dans le jeu de forces qu'est la mondialisation ?

Commençons les périphéries du Droit dans la mondialisation.